Login / Register  0 items | $0.00 New @ KVR

Product Reviews by KVR Members

All reviews by Daedalus

Review Something
or Find Reviews
Neutron Bass Synth [read all reviews]
Reviewed By Daedalus [read all by] on 30th June 2004
Version reviewed: 1.0 on Windows
2 of 3 people found this review helpful.
Was it helpful to you? Yes No
User Interface
Very clear and easy to use. The only thing with bothers me a little bit is that the waveshapes have numbers in stead of names!

Sound
This VSTi can create some nice bass sounds and also some pretty good leads. When you play a meoldy that has both high notes and low notes you can really hear some extra bassy power in the low notes! :) This VSTi also has a very nice filter!

Features
Perfect for bass sounds, ok for lead sounds. Can't do much more that that. No fancy trancgates :)

Documentation
Simple .txt file. Not much info, but I don't think you will need any details descriptions anyway.

Presets
Not all that many, but they sound nice!

Customer Support
Helpfull website and email support

Value For Money
It's free!

Stability
Stable and doens't use much CPU

Conclusion:
Give this VSTi a try!
4Front Rhode [read all reviews]
Reviewed By Daedalus [read all by] on 27th June 2004
Version reviewed: 1.0 on Windows.
Last edited by Daedalus on 6th July 2004.
2 of 2 people found this review helpful.
Was it helpful to you? Yes No
User Interface
Clear and easy to use!

Sound
This VSTi can make a beautifull Rhodes sound. It can't to much more than that, but it's not made to do other fancy stuff. the Rhodes-sound is resonably realistic, except when you play very high or very low notes.

Features
It can only make Rhodes sound, not much else. But like I said, it's not made to do much else.

Documentation
Average, but you don't really need any.

Presets
No presets!

Customer Support
Nice website with good support!

VfM
it's free!

Stability
Very stable!
OnePingOnly [read all reviews]
Reviewed By Daedalus [read all by] on 27th June 2004
Version reviewed: Beta 1 on Windows.
Last edited by Daedalus on 20th August 2004.
2 of 2 people found this review helpful.
Was it helpful to you? Yes No
User Interface
This VSTi uses the default interface of the host. I use FLstudio so when I open this VSTi I just see a shitload of confusing thingy's. I'd really wish this VSTi would have a good interface, because now it is VERY difficult to work with.

Sound
Can create some weird, but nice, pings and blings. Also useable in percussion. But that's al it can do.

Features
Very limited, to say the least.

Documentation
Not much

Presets.
Some nice presets! Too bad they have numbers in stead of names!

Customer Support.
medium

VfM
It's free!

Stability
Very stable.

Conclusion:
It's not much, but it's worth a try.
Claw [read all reviews]
Reviewed By Daedalus [read all by] on 18th May 2004
Version reviewed: 2002 on Windows
2 of 4 people found this review helpful.
Was it helpful to you? Yes No
When I first download this synth I didn't think it would do any good compared to synths like the Superwave P8. But as it turned out, the Claw can create some nice lead and bass sounds, especially sreaming and acid-like ones. The Claw only has a few buttons and knobs, but they are easy to use and give you a lot of possibilitys. This is a synth I can recommend!
V-Station [read all reviews]
Reviewed By Daedalus [read all by] on 16th May 2004
Version reviewed: 99999999 on Windows
2 of 6 people found this review helpful.
Was it helpful to you? Yes No
A very nice VSTi, you can create a wide variety of very nice basses, leads, arps, pads, strings, brasses and organs with the V-Station. The V-Station has a lot of buttons and knobs, but tweaking it is quite easy, even for a VSTi-n00b like me. Within minutes you'll be creating some funky sounds. The Value For Money factor is quite good (the price stated on KvR is wrong, the actual price is a lot lower, I belive ). The only thing I really don't like about this VSTi is that it's not very stable. Often when I use it in FLstudio it gives me stranges errors and crashes. Even though the customer support has been very, very helpfull I haven't been abel to fix it yet.
Triangle II [read all reviews]
Reviewed By Daedalus [read all by] on 16th May 2004
Version reviewed: 99999999 on Windows.
Last edited by Daedalus on 21st May 2004.
3 of 10 people found this review helpful.
Was it helpful to you? Yes No
This is quite an nice VSTi. It's kind of like the Pentagon, but freeware. You can create some nice lead and bass sounds with this baby, but they aren't as good as the sounds that the Superwave P8 or Crystal can create. The Triange II is very stable and comes with some nice presets, although the presets don't give you a good example of wat the Triangle II is capable of.
Pentagon I [read all reviews]
Reviewed By Daedalus [read all by] on 16th May 2004
Version reviewed: 1.0 on Windows.
Last edited by Daedalus on 18th May 2004.
11 of 24 people found this review helpful.
Was it helpful to you? Yes No
I was suprised to see that the avrage rating for this VSTi was above 9. It's quite a good synth, but it doesn't do anything that other (freeware) synths don't do. The user interface is nice, but not more than that. The sound is nice, but not more than that. Same for the features, documentation, presets, VfM and stability. Conclusion: A nice VSti, but not something especially new or good. It's avrage, maybe a tiny bit above avrage. No more, no less.
Superwave P8 [read all reviews]
Reviewed By Daedalus [read all by] on 16th May 2004
Version reviewed: 1.6 on Windows
3 of 6 people found this review helpful.
Was it helpful to you? Yes No
This is one of my favourite freeware synths. It's perfect for trancy lead sounds and full,warm pads or strings. I'm quite new to using VSTi's and mostly I have a lot of trouble figuering out what all the buttons and switches do, but the Superwave P8 has a clear, easy-to-use interface and when you turn a knob or clik a button it intantly becomes clear what the knob or button is for and what the posibilitys are, even for a n00b like me. The presets contain al lot of nice sounds and with a little tweaking they sound just right in your music. The Superwave P8 is also very stable, it has never crashed on my computer (unlike some payware synths!). Best of all: The Superwave P8 is free. Just download it and in minutes you'll experience it's usefullness!