Synths without PWM

VST, AU, AAX, CLAP, etc. Plugin Virtual Instruments Discussion
RELATED
PRODUCTS

I know Sylenth1 doesn't have that feature, but there is a trick to fake it with certain settings. AFAIK discoDSP's Corona doesn't have it either.

Is there a reason why it would be implemented in some plugins and not others?
I am not a programmer myself, but is it that difficult to add?

Ask Lennardigital

As far as i gathered, it takes more CPU. But, there's really few synths which don't have it.

Elektronisch wrote: Fri Dec 07, 2018 1:35 pm Ask Lennardigital
That feature has been requested many times, but I didn't ask him directly why it hasn't been added.

To my best knowledge, Sylenth1 uses so called "MipMapping" of static waveforms, i.e. it has keeps each waveform in separate tables for a range of frequencies. This is a very efficient way to avoid aliasing, but it does not allow for continuous changes of the waveform.

The easiest way to create PWM with this is to play two sawtooth waveforms with opposite polarity. Obviously, this doubles the CPU usage, and maybe this was a consideration. Maybe they thought they'd get away with it since the Minimoog doesn't have PWM either. And of course, the trick is to simply waste two oscillators (again, twice the CPU). Other tricks include using an inverting delay on the sawtooth, where the delay time is a fraction of waveform cycle.

It is not difficult to add when a synth can do a sawtooth waveform. Hence, my best guess: The reason is CPU load.

When I use the workaround in Sylenth1, I don't see an increase in the CPU load. And even if there were a slight increase, who would care these days, when computers are so much more powerful than a decade ago...