Most diverse range but realistic-sounding piano plugin? Keyscape vs Vienna Imperial

VST, AU, AAX, CLAP, etc. Plugin Virtual Instruments Discussion
RELATED
PRODUCTS

Hi there, I'm a newbie to this forum but have been searching through many topics about this so appreciate all who have written in similar topics so far!

I use Logic Pro X and cannot figure out which is the best plugin to buy. So far, the two that most appeal to me are Spectrasonics Keyscape and Vienna Imperial but sadly I can't afford to buy both.

I love the sound of keyscape due to the endless amounts of different keyboard instruments sampled and I'm definitely leaning towards getting it. However, I'm very anal about how realistic the piano sounds and I love the effort VSL has gone to in order to reproduce the closest to the real thing out there - I just wish there was a variation of pianos/instruments sampled.

I'd particularly like to know how the high ranges sound with the grand pianos on Keyscape and are the classical pianos on there warm/mellow as well as realistic? I'm a composer - film and classical - and can't really stand the sound of anything too bright.

I love the sound of old Bechsteins but it seems like none of the plugins that contain these compare to Vienna Imperial.

Any help from anyone who has one or both plugins mentioned would be much appreciated! Thanks in advance :ud:

Most realistic sounding piano(s)? Best sound? Pianoteq, definitely. And much cheaper than Keyscape and Vienna Imperial.

enCiphered wrote: Wed Sep 11, 2019 8:48 pm Most realistic sounding piano(s)? Best sound? Pianoteq, definitely. And much cheaper than Keyscape and Vienna Imperial.
Pianoteq? Interesting. The general feeling seems to be that while Pianoteq is probably the most playable, it is not quite there sound-wise. Maybe things have changed :shrug:

el-bo (formerly ebow) wrote: Wed Sep 11, 2019 8:57 pm