Short review on ESI K.ON 88 key master keyboard

Anything about hardware musical instruments.
Post Reply New Topic
RELATED
PRODUCTS

I finally decided to go for the ESI K.ON 88 note hammer action keyboard after choosing between this and the Fatar SL-990 Pro or VMK 188+. I chose it over the Fatars mainly because of available horizontal space as I need to put my Kore2 controller, an AlphaTrack and a mouse on there.

After playing it for some time last night I came up with the following pros and cons:

PROS
  • - The keyboard action is nice. Although I'm no expert on piano action (I trained on a pipe organ), I found it to be very dynamic, both very quiet and loud passages can be played with ease.

- There are 5 velocity curves to choose from. Although it's not a lot, there should be one to suit your style. Note that the fifth curve outputs a flat velocity of 127 which may or may not be useful.

- The pitch bend and aftertouch wheels are smooth and responsive transmitting a high resolution data-stream for precise control (compared to the Fatar Numa, for example, that has a course data-stream. Info on the Numa is taken from Sound on Sound June 2008 issue).

- The build quality is very good and solid. The brushed aluminium fascia and the piano black plastic sides look very nice indeed!

- The two pedal inputs along with the pitchbend and modulation wheels are assignable.

- The eight sliders have three banks selectable by a button (the ninth slider is fixed to 'master volume' but of course if your sequencer has a 'learn' function it can be assigned to anything). One of the banks can be assigned to any controller number (the other two banks are fixed - see below)

- The eight rotary encoders have two banks. One of the banks can be assigned to any controller number (the other bank is fixed - see below)