First Hardware synth for a trance producer?

Anything about hardware musical instruments.
RELATED
PRODUCTS

Hi everyone I'm considering buying my first hardware synth, i just don't know what to chose
i have been thinking about the virus ti snow, or maybe the ti2 due to the fact that it has more knobs.

I have also heard that the Nordlead series should be just as good but they have a shaper sound
and that they cant get as big/fat as the virus series is that true btw?

- Anyways if you guys have some other suggestions let me know :D

If it's your first hardware synth you likely won't be able to tell them apart anyway. When I started all of mine sounded the same: 101's to Nord Leads to Virus's to Juno's. All sounded ballsy with a face melting filter sound.

It was only when I started learning synthesis they came into their own.

My recommendation: Look up your favourite producer. Buy their most loved synth. Learn it.
"I was wondering if you'd like to try Magic Mushrooms"
"Oooh I dont know. Sounds a bit scary"
"It's not scary. You just lose a sense of who you are and all that sh!t"

Good advice from Mushy. Can't add much but the Virus or Nord Leads are your basic standard trance super synths. Tons of presets for the Virus series.

You could check out one of the earlier Virus B or C models if you want to see what they're capable of without dropping the full cost of a TI2. That's what I plan to do (Virus B) when one becomes available for a good price (sub $500).

Of course, the main benefit of the TI2 is the USB audio interface and Total Integration ... won't get that with the Virus B.

Peace,
Andy.
... space is the place ...

I'd recommend Virus over Nord simply because it is so much more.
Aiynzahev-sounds
Sound Designer - Soundsets for Pigments, Repro, Diva, Virus TI, Nord Lead 4, Serum, DUNE2, Spire, and others

Aiynzahev wrote:I'd recommend Virus over Nord simply because it is so much more.
And this is why I wouldn't.