My SY77, is this real life or is this just fantasy?

Anything about hardware musical instruments.
Post Reply New Topic
RELATED
PRODUCTS

I've been using my SY77 for about 10 years now,

and I've always used it as MIDI controller (to control my virtual synths) and never as an instrument in itself.

Growing more and more tired of how poor and weak my freeware VSTs sound,

I connected my SY77 into the audiocard and made music with it for the first time.

Now my question is,

am I just fantasizing or is it scientifically justified that the overall sound recorded with the hardware SY77 (dating from 1989) seems unexplicably to be more solid and rich than the basic VSTs that come with Logic Pro (bought in 2015)?

I've never managed to jam with my Logic Pro instruments for more than 30 minutes because of the inherent weird weak quality that comes with them, but jamming with this old hardware that I'd always underestimated, time flew.

Is this just an illusion that comes from the prejudice that hardware must be somewhat more authentic and organic than software?

Enlighten me plz

Best regards,

I got a Yamaha Motif ES 7 workstation since beginning of 2005 (more than 12 years now) wheer the last years i mostly used it as a controller.

Now i played with the built-in sounds again whwer i also got big amount of 3rd party soundsets and samples and am again and/or still quite blown away from te sounds it could do.

While i have a lot of plugins and also a few other hardware synths the Motif still seems to be quite difficult to be fully replaced. The low end in the sound seems to as good or even better than with some real analog synths i had used (depending on which one i compare it to). Also the effects in the Motif seem to be at a quite outstanding quality, even compard to modern plugins.
The Motif ES has a quite flecible and great sounding multimode filter with up to 18 different modes (including multi modes with more than one filter in series).