external soundcard and boombox?

Anything about hardware musical instruments.
Post Reply New Topic
RELATED
PRODUCTS

Hello,

I use an old but nice multimix 4 usb to plug my guitar on my computer.

The other day I figured : what if I plug the headphone output of my boombox or my stereo system to one of the line input of my multimix? This way I could copy compact cassette or vinyl onto my computer?

Of course, the sound would be terrible, but it's just for fun. However, I'd like to know if there's no risk that I blow up my soundcard or my computer or my whole electrical system?

I'm not really an expert when it comes to impedances and voltages rules and stuff...

badgrplayer wrote: Mon Jan 21, 2019 4:40 pmThe other day I figured : what if I plug the headphone output of my boombox or my stereo system to one of the line input of my multimix?

Of course, the sound would be terrible, but it's just for fun. However, I'd like to know if there's no risk that I blow up my soundcard or my computer or my whole electrical system?
Electrically, there's no issue. But if you connect your stereo headphone socket to a single line input, you'll be recording in mono. You probably? want to record both channels, so you'd need a cable like this:

https://www.amazon.co.uk/3-5mm-Stereo-6 ... B0034DSUMK
my other modular synth is a bugbrand

If your stereo system has a tape out then use that. If using the headphone out make sure you gain stage properly.

Headphone output should go to mic input.
Aux output should go to line input.

It ought to work fine. Sound quality would depend on how badly worn your records and cassettes, how badly worn the record stylus or tape heads and amount of natural electronic noise/distortion in your boombox/stereo.

Long (LONG!!) ago when most audio was transformer coupled, good signal gain and tone depended on matching output and input impedances.