Software Synths VS. Digital Hardware Synths.

Anything about hardware musical instruments.
Post Reply New Topic
RELATED
PRODUCTS

I'm planning to buy a polysynth in the future and before making a decision or making a post asking for recommendations I would like to gather information to clear my mind of doubts.

I'm not a live performer, I make music mainly at my home studio so I would like to know what are the advantages of having a DIGITAL hardware synthesizer over a software one and viceversa (especially in terms of sound). Logic tells me that they would sound similar because they are digital, but I don't know, never tried a digital hardware synth before, I'm a novice when it comes to hardware synthesizers.

Thanks.

No computer needed is the main advantage (altho a lot of hardware has computer editors) and hands-on control. Soundwise ... there are great sounding hardware & software synths. Best bet is go try a few.

I have a lot of hardware, but only 1 digital synth (Nord Micromodular) which sounds fantastic. I do prefer analog synths tbh :)

There is no advantage at all to having digital hardware synths, especially if, as you say, you’re not performing, just recording.

Mm, love those hardware 1s and 0s, lol.

thecontrolcentre wrote: Sun Mar 08, 2020 11:58 pm No computer needed is the main advantage (altho a lot of hardware has computer editors) and hands-on control. Soundwise ... there are great sounding hardware & software synths. Best bet is go try a few.
+1

To have controls to make tweakin fun is maybe most obvious difference. Apart from nothing to fire up - just a power button and play around a bit.

And since you render maybe a stereo track at a time from hardware - you have much more headroom in computer you have. Software synths use much more resources - memory and cpu.

I use mostly hardware too - and just render to audio as I am done with one instrument. Come back later and redo, but nothing much to it really.