a songwriters rythmic dilemma

Share your music, collaborate, and partake in monthly music contests.
RELATED
PRODUCTS

Being a home recording songwriter, making plain pop mainstream sort of stuff, I must admit that I am meeting big doubts with all the drum related stuff.

I've been buying a few loop cd's and as I am not very good at sketching rythms in my host (cubase sl), I feel I need some more aid: maybe I haven't made wise purchases, but the loops don't really speed up a thing.

1 I have always cheated myself into thinking that a few loops would support the creative process. But as a matter of fact, the last two or three years I've been sitting with my guitar and a portable cassette recorder, which is fine, but then, at some point, I'd like to go to my daw and start playing a little with my expensive toys. This just doesn't work for me. Best case scenario, I find a good EP-sound and use that alone. Worst case scenario: I sit for hours browsing sample or loop cd's. What does/doesn't work for you, fellow songwriters in the writing process?

2 Then I may eventually have a nice tune on tape and it's time to make a demo out of it. Here I am completely lost. Once more, browsing my loop cd's, struggling with cubase's piano roll, puking about the outcome, becoming increasingly upset and less optimistic.

So I have been making an extensive research about what kind of aid you can get out there, other then hyring a drummer to teach you some theory, which admittedly may be a big payoff in the long term.

Can you please give me some sensible advice on how to become more productive, both on point 1 and point 2 (see above)? My ambition is not to make a perfect demo, just something that I won't be too ashamed to listen to some day in 5 or 10 years.

Right now one can join the RM IV group buy.