Aspect v2... will it have effects built in?

Official support for: loomer.co.uk
Post Reply New Topic
RELATED
PRODUCTS

Hi Colin, guys and gals.
I am quite new to the Loomer world, starting my Loomer collection ;)

I am demoing Aspect (great sound!) and wondering where are the effects!? Loomer seems to have many very cool effect algorithms going, but none in the flagship. A missed trick, or am I missing the point of the purity?

I am demoing Aspect (great sound!)
Thanks!

Aspect's lack of effect was a conscious decision, born out of discussions with many musicians and producers who complained that the overuse of effects in software synths made for presets which, although immediately stunning, were ultimately difficult to mix.

A lot of people seem to enjoy the purity of Aspect; a lot of other people would like to have the option to use built-in effects. Which is a long-winded way of saying, yes: there will be a small, tightly-integrated selection of effects in Aspect 2, although easily disabled by those who like the purity of the first version!
Architect, the modular MIDI toolkit, beta now available for macOS, Windows, and Linux.

Thanks for the info Colin. I DO like the purity of Aspect in that sense, but as you have many cool effects, and I generally add a tad of phaser or delay (at least) to many of my synths. I must admit I mostly buy synths that have some effects built in.

If someone such as myself was to buy Aspect now, would that someone need to pay for the upgrade to v2?

Thanks again
Simon

I love Aspect without effects, but I shall accept v2 with effects if the GUI doesn't require any more screen space than it already does :)

sqigls wrote:If someone such as myself was to buy Aspect now, would that someone need to pay for the upgrade to v2?
No, the upgrade would be free to all owners. So far we've never charged for upgrades - be they major or minor - and there are no plans to change this policy.