New-user puzzlers

Official support for: musicdevelopments.com
oconnorstp
KVRer
9 posts since 7 Nov, 2011

Post Sun Apr 22, 2018 4:34 pm

Hi all,

I'm brand new to RC and was wondering if I could impose on you for some basic tips. Just point me to the right thread if this is the wrong way to do it. Here's my first puzzler.

How do I apply the Swing variation to a phrase? I'm working my way through the wiki and that's the suggestion on the Basics page. But I'm missing some newbie step. Here's a 45 second video of how I'm trying to do it -- clearly wrong because nothing is changing.

https://www.haven2.com/wp-content/uploa ... -swing.mp4

Thanks in advance.

Mike
About our habitat restoration project - www.PrairieHaven.com
My blog - www.Haven2.com

musicdevelopments
KVRAF
2795 posts since 9 Jan, 2010

Re: New-user puzzlers

Post Mon Apr 23, 2018 12:46 am

Hi Mike,

I'll show you how to add a variation to a phrase, or to a track.
Each phrase and track have a list of variations that are applied to it. Multiple variations are applied in top-to-bottom order. Since the whole process is non-destructive, your original phrase will not be modified. So you can freely experiment.

1) Open the phrase/track inspector. Look for the colorful arrow at the top, and click on it:

2) click on the "Add..." menu at the bottom and select a variation to add. Alternatively you can drop a variation from the Variations browser on the list.

Usually it is not necessary to open the Variations browser at all. In theory you can drag and drop variations on phrases but at the moment it inserts the dropped variation twice. I'll fix this problem later today.

Thanks,
Attila
http://www.musicdevelopments.com
Music Prototyping And Automated Composition Solutions

oconnorstp
KVRer

Post Mon Apr 23, 2018 4:02 am

Thanks for straightening me out Attila!