CSound vs. Supercollider vs. Chuck

Modular Synth design and releases (Reaktor, SynthEdit, Tassman, etc.)
RELATED
PRODUCTS

Lately I have started to do experimental electroacoustic music and I feel like I need to start from scratch. If I use my old hardware/software synths my music tends to sound like it always has (more commercial ambient), so I'm thinking of learning one of the programmes above and now I'm interested in your opininons: features, which one is least painful to learn etc.

i have heard varying opinions that CSound is antiquated or bloated, but i happen to think it's still very functional. there is a great front-end for it called Cecilia which lets you write your own "modules" and comes with some pre-made to get you started. it uses a graph and slider controls to vary the module's parameters over time and can yeild some interesting results.

i have no experience with Supercollider or Chuck, sorry.

I don't know what the third one is, but I'd say the first two are very bad choices. I know that because they were the first lanuages I tried to learn (and I didn't finish either).

My experience with CSound was that it was still in the Stone Age. It's great that they have the book and all, but it's a nightmare. At the time you had to render everything, so you couldn't use it in real time. I see no reason to learn it. I really didn't like it. Way out of date.

Supercollider is better but it's not an easy language at all. It's text for a start, which I don't go for. I think especially for a first language you want graphics. You can do GUIs but it's a pain, and they don't look good. Have a listen to the stuff that gets posted on the mailing list, it's nearly all electro-acoustic experimental music; the architecture of SC kind of pushed you in that direction. If that's what you're after, great, but if you're after something more traditional, like an ambient synth, it wouldn't be the tool I'd use.