Newbie in modular synthesis: Bidule or Reaktor?

Modular Synth design and releases (Reaktor, SynthEdit, Tassman, etc.)
Post Reply New Topic
RELATED
PRODUCTS

Hi,
I design sounds for my own productions (ambient) and want to learn modular synthesis. I have some programming background and already started learning SuperCollider.

As I would also like something with graphical interface and easy integration with my DAW (I'm on Logic), I'm looking for your recommendation which one (Bidule or Reaktor) is better as a long-term investment of my time spent on learning. I've tried demos of both Bidule (nice, quite intuitive, love the ability to use AU and VST plugins) and Reaktor (I like its GUI, dislike its appetite for CPU power).

Regards,
Adam

Hi Adam,

Well I thought you would have got a few more responses by now.. so I'll give you my opinion on these things..

I think it entirely depends on what you want to make, how you want to use it and how you want it to look. You spotted one of the BIG things Bidule can do; load VSTs/AUs - and if you want to make environments for modulating your favourite synths and effects, with the potential to write your own effects or synths should you choose to, go Bidule.

If you want access to a library of thousands of other people's (ranging from cruddy to spiffing) synths and effects, which you can then connect any which way you desire, including using the much-loved Blocks (investigate if you need - it's as close to high-level modular synthesis as you'll get in Reaktor) part of Reaktor.

Interesting things about these two products is that one will gon into the other, but not the other way round.. (Reaktor instruments can run in Bidule, but Bidule cannot be loaded into a Reaktor environment)