Reprogramming LED colors by MIDI note #?

Official support for: rogerlinndesign.com
RELATED
PRODUCTS

So, I've been using the LinnStrument to work with a 16 tone per octave scale (and it works excellently BTW!). But of course the default lighting scheme is less than desirable. So is it possible to reprogram the lighting to repeat octaves (for example) on MIDI notes 1, 17, 33, etc; notes 9, 25, 41, etc. another color (perfect 5ths); notes 5, 21, 37, etc. another color (perfect 3rds) and so forth? It would be ideal to be able to program at least 8 different colors. The idea is to be able to see the exact location of where the different pitches repeat on the keyboard. I have no experience with the root programming language, but would be willing to dive in a little, if such a lighting scheme could be accomplished! Thanks for any feedback.

Bruce

Hi Bruce,

You can light the note pads however you like by sending standard MIDI Control Change messages to LinnStrument. To learn how, open the Panel Settings Page, Global Settings tab, then read the text at the end of the Note Lights On/Off section.

I was struggling with this as well, could not figure out how to simply send MIDI CC from Logic Pro to the LinnStrument, but I just downloaded that app by Ben Fuhrman that you link to and I'm up and running!

http://benfuhrman.com/linnstrument-led-controls/

The LinnStrument is a superior instrument for xenharmonic experimentation! Thank you.

Roger, thank you for the heads up to Ben's MAX app. After downloading and fiddling around with it for a while, I've been able to save several keyboard light layouts and load them on the Linnstrument. It's fantastic how the keyboard updates every time I set or change a color in the app. However, I need some further information to get the most out of this setup.