Tips for Animoog and Linnstrument?

Official support for: rogerlinndesign.com
RELATED
PRODUCTS

My first post here was asking about Mac vs iPad. I kind of forgot about my old ipad air 1 until recently when I picked Animoog again. Animoog is actually the reason I started playing again after more than 20 years and is also the app where I first heard about MPE and guess what, the Linnstrument.

Still a beginner with the sound design thing, I would like to ask if you have any suggestion as to how best use Animoog's MPE options with the Linnstrument. I'm having most difficult to specially modulate things with the Y-axis. So tips, tricks, suggestions, patches...? Anything is welcome.

Animoog has been my go-to iOS synth for years. It's an elusively flexible synth, and naturally works really well with the LinnStrument. In fact, Geert added the MPE functionality to Animoog while he was developing the LinnStrument's firmware, so go figure. Anyway...

I find the best approach with Animoog is to first go into "Timbres" and customize the X/Y matrix to your liking. A good place to start is to use wavetables that progress gradually from one timbre to the next like, say, subtle-to-coarse or vice versa: i.e. I often work with a sign-based wavetable at the bottom of the matrix, with each subsequent wavetable above it becoming more and more harmonically rich, noisy, or agressive.

From there, I tend to use Pressure to control parameters like filter-cutoff, resonance, filter-drive, and detune... And I typically use the Y-axis for mod-wheel, which I map to parameters like path-origin, orbit-amount, orbit-rate, LFO amount, LFO rate, etc. Path-origin also works well as a Pressure destination.