Newbie VST question!

DSP, Plugin and Host development discussion.
Post Reply New Topic
RELATED
PRODUCTS

Hey everyone.

A little background...

I'm a musician (been studying music most of my life), and I'm a computer science student here at the local University.

A few days ago I was talking to one of our profs about how I could mix my two interests (music and programming), and he suggested I get into programming VST plugins (in C++ I believe).

Also, I recently purchased a Fantom S88 and have been doing some research on sound creation, synthesis etc.

So, yes, I am new to this world... but very interested nonetheless.

Also, I have .NET programming experience from job I have here currently. I know the languages Java and C#, and am in the process of learning C, C++.

I was just wondering if someone could tell me where to start w.r.t. VST plugin programming? I realize I'm not at the stage to begin any coding (obviously), but was wondering if there's any articles/books etc I could read up on?

Any suggestions would be greatly appreciated!

Thanks - and great website by the way!

You should get the VST SDK which is by Steinberg and is available here
http://ygrabit.steinberg.de/users/ygrab ... index.html

You will need a software sequencer or some other VST host (many can be downloaded).

You certainly need to work in C++ (Java and the the other thing -can't say it- are no good for this).

To save time you can instead download SynthEdit where you can build a VST with drag and drop, but use the SynthEdit SDK in C++ for tricky stuff (my preferred approach). It will also act as a host.

Steve

There is always Delphi, but C++ is probably a much more obvious choice, given your background. If you are interested in using Delphi, ask the legendary Tobybear.