Amplitude Scaling Stratregies

DSP, Plugin and Host development discussion.
RELATED
PRODUCTS

Hi guys!
As some of you may know i'm a newbie developer coming from csound, pd, synthedit ;) background....
i'm in the process to deal with vst sdk and dsp stuff...very early stage...
i have a question
when you do a polyphonic synth how do you scale the output signal so if i play 2 or more notes at full amp
the signal does'nt clip or distort?
in a mono synth is a fixed thing...but if you have a poly stuff how do you do 'dynamic' scaling in relation to the number of voices played?
thanx
lalo
ps : please be simple in explanations ;)
thnax again
lalo

how do you scale the output signal so if i play 2 or more notes at full amp the signal does'nt clip or distort?
I don't.
Just add them.

So is the SDK itself to take care about that stuff?

Normaly you have something like a master volume. It's up to the user to get that right.

BTW, normaly you don't hit they keay as heavy as you can all the time.

helium wrote:
how do you scale the output signal so if i play 2 or more notes at full amp the signal does'nt clip or distort?
I don't.
Just add them.
Yeah,
but this seems to be exactly the reason for many many commercial and free software synthesizers to distort the output finally (nearly 90 percent of them).

On most of them You have to reduce the volume manually if you play only one chord... and then the voices will be very quiet in the solo parts then... You finally need a person who tweeks the mixers all the time...

Whatever, you will not find such a bad realization on any digital hardware synthesizer...

So there should be a somehow better solution for a quality plugin.

If you don't reduce the volume on mixing, there must be at least a breakwall limiter at the end, or better a good maximizer, which scales down the peaks on playing with higher polyphony.

To say, this is by the user to do so (eat or die) is unprofessional, in my opinion.

:idea: