Help identifying/naming a distortion pattern?

DSP, Plugin and Host development discussion.
Post Reply New Topic
RELATED
PRODUCTS

Hey everyone. I'm pretty new to DSP stuff so I'm not sure whether this question is trivial or the opposite.

Basically I have a tone from existing software/samples that I'm hoping to replicate as an effect (not as an oscillator/generator), but I'm not sure how to do it.

I measured it with an oscilliscope to get an idea of what's going on. The top wave here is a middle C, pretty close to a pure sine wave, and the lower wave is what I want to get out, another middle C with the distortion added.

Since the positive and negative zero crossings on the pure wave have different results on the output I'm guessing that a simple waveshaper function won't cut it here. Maybe some combination of a waveshaper and a rectifier would work? Or perhaps there's something more complex there which I'd have to model?
You do not have the required permissions to view the files attached to this post.

Kylotan wrote: Since the positive and negative zero crossings on the pure wave have different results on the output I'm guessing that a simple waveshaper function won't cut it here. Maybe some combination of a waveshaper and a rectifier would work? Or perhaps there's something more complex there which I'd have to model?
You are over-thinking it, I think. There's no reason your wave-shaper has to be symmetric and in fact a "rectifier" is just another type of a wave-shaper too.

Ok, let me see if I have this right - a waveshaper is just basically

Code: Select all

x' = f(x)
, where f is some arbitrary function and x is the sample/time domain value, correct? If so, I don't see how I can apply that to the above, because the above function seems to have 2 different output values where x=0 - it's roughly zero on the positive crossing, but significantly below zero on the negative crossing, because the sine-like crests on the second graph are narrower.