Compute Sound Similarity?

DSP, Plug-in and Host development discussion.
nxcvi
KVRer
1 posts since 7 May, 2018

Post Mon May 07, 2018 7:38 am

Hello everyone.
I am new to digital signal processing, and I would really appreciate it if you could point me to the right direction.
Say I have:
- a recording of a long C4 note played by a bass guitar.
- a recording of a synth playing the same note, that attempts to recreate the bass guitar sound.
Is there a method I can use to compute the similarity percentage between the two sounds, so as to tell how good the sound emulation is?

Thanks in advance :)

Music Engineer
KVRAF
3765 posts since 8 Mar, 2004 from Berlin, Germany

Re: Compute Sound Similarity?

Post Mon May 07, 2018 9:02 am

one general purpose measure of signal similarity is the cross-correlation function between the two signals. it is itself a sequence and we should look at the maximum value of that sequence. but i'm doubtful how applicable this method is to assess a subjective, human sense of similarity. probably not very much. perhaps it would make more sense to compare relative amplitudes of harmonics and (in case of non-steady, decaying sounds) their decay rates

Music Engineer
KVRAF
3765 posts since 8 Mar, 2004 from Berlin, Germany

Post Mon May 07, 2018 9:10 am

...but it gets more complicated. especially in the case of percussive and plucked sounds, the transient is perceptually very important as well - and that won't be captured by harmonic amplitudes and decay rates. in case of steady sounds, we may want to consider the "bandwidths" of the harmonics (which are idealized as infinitely narrow lines, but in practice, they have some nonzero width - at least in the case of acoustic instruments like flutes, bowed strings, etc.). ...soo..yeah - i think, this is a rather non-trivial task. i'd be interested in ideas for that, too

stratum
KVRAF
1842 posts since 29 May, 2012

Post Mon May 07, 2018 9:39 am