3dB/0.5 pole filter?

DSP, Plugin and Host development discussion.
RELATED
PRODUCTS

I'm not a coder, as such, so in my ignorance I wonder if it is at all possible to design filter circuits with slopes smaller than 6dB? or 8.3, for example..

Poles are just input values (in the case of a filter transfer function a complex number) that cause an equation to output infinity. So talking about 0.5 poles doesn't really make sense.

On the other hand if you can imagine a 3db low pass filter response, or 8.3, or whatever, then you can model that. Perhaps using curve fitting techniques, or some other method.

Single pole will give you 6dB/octave, so that's your basic building block, you can't really split it.

What you can do is use multiple 6dB/octave shelving filters placed at fixed distance from each other on the log-freq grid (eg. something like 2 such one-pole shelves per octave will do the trick quite "perfectly" although you can improve the quality further by using more) and then you can control the slope freely (up to 6dB/octave) by adjusting the gain of the shelves.

Given that you need something like 15-20 one-poles (per channel) to do this over the 20-20kHz audible range (about 10 octaves) with more or less "transparent" results, I'd really suggest doing this with DSP rather than building a circuit.. but like... it works. If you don't mind some ripple, then using less stages is also possible. It's also worth noting that it turns out that the 3dB/octave happens to be the worst-case in terms of error, which means whatever setup can give you acceptable results for 3dB/octave will also handle anything else at least as well. :)

There are a few methods for obtaining arbitrary-slope digital filters.