learning programming. the best path?

DSP, Plugin and Host development discussion.
RELATED
PRODUCTS

ive done a search and seen plenty of helpful information, but nothing that directly answers my questions.

i have no experience with programming other than writing hello world in C++ following a tutorial many years ago, and even that i have forgotten.
i want to learn with the long term goal of writing plugins and other audio software and could do with some advice to get me started.

i was considering starting with ruby (then stepping up to C++ when i understand more about the process) as it seems it is one of the easiest languages from what ive read. it doesnt look like you can write VST plugins with ruby though. is that correct? and is it worth doing this or would i benefit more from starting with C++ straight away?
i also read a little about juce, but im confused, is that language? would it be a better choice than ruby?

i have more questions but i will ask them later to keep things simple.

FYI i have used reaktor for many many years as well as synthmaker and synthedit for a few years a while back. they were great and i learned a lot about DSP in the process, but i want more flexibility.

any help getting started would be great. thanks! <3

Learning basic concepts is important, particularly those that are structures common to most languages.

Maybe start with something like Python and just follow a few online tutorials (there are tons for Python), and once you have basic concepts under your belt it will make learning any other language a lot easier.

Forgotten wrote: Fri Sep 20, 2019 5:12 pm Learning basic concepts is important, particularly those that are structures common to most languages.

Maybe start with something like Python and just follow a few online tutorials (there are tons for Python), and once you have basic concepts under your belt it will make learning any other language a lot easier.