Apple's Universal App Quick Start Program - Anyone Apply?

DSP, Plugin and Host development discussion.
Post Reply New Topic
RELATED
PRODUCTS

Has anyone applied to the Universal App Quick Start Program in order to get the Developer Transition Kit?

https://developer.apple.com/programs/universal/

Part of me thinks it would be nice to get a jump start on things this time around with Apple Silicon and Universal 2 Binary coming at us and the other part thinks it's weird to pay apple $500 for a loaner computer I'll just have to give back. What are the odds of approval for lowly plugin developers? Do you think the industry is going to be prepared this time around, or will there be massive failures and confusion with the transition, as per usual?

I did, and I'm a pretty lowly plugin developer as well. ;)

The DTK arrived, I booted it up, installed the Xcode universal beta and built my plugin without changing a single line of code...and it works in MainStage and Logic.

Pretty anti-climactic...especially for all the Apple-haters out there. Cheers.

joshb wrote: Thu Jul 23, 2020 6:10 pm I did, and I'm a pretty lowly plugin developer as well. ;)

The DTK arrived, I booted it up, installed the Xcode universal beta and built my plugin without changing a single line of code...and it works in MainStage and Logic.

Pretty anti-climactic...especially for all the Apple-haters out there. Cheers.
Sounds like it's might not be worth the $500 then. Maybe I'll withdraw my application.

dev.apple.com wrote: Developer Transition Kit Tech Specs

Processor
Apple A12Z Bionic

Memory
16GB

Storage
512GB SSD

I/O
Two USB-C ports (up to 10 Gbps)
Two USB-A ports (up to 5 Gbps)
HDMI 2.0 port

Communications
802.11ac Wi-Fi
Bluetooth 5.0
Gigabit Ethernet
Looking at the IO is a bit of a surprise.
Am I right this is like a lunchbox pc?
So if a dev has laptops only, you need to buy a screen & keyboard.

Dunno why, I kinda was expecting it to be laptop format, like McBookAir or so.