Some doubts about eletric guitar

A forum for discussion of all things guitar!
Post Reply New Topic
RELATED
PRODUCTS

I never had an eletric guitar - though I play the acoustic - and I have no experience of how eletric instruments work. However, I often see on local ads eletric guitars and basses for good prices. They are among the easiest instruments to find.

My doubt is how this instrument works... I mean, If I plug It on an audio interface, I can record It with great quality of sound or I need other equipment? The amplifier of a Focusrite interface is enough to record It with phone?
Also, from where comes the differences of sound? Do I need other sort of hardware other than the guitar itself? Or software?
I have no intention of playing it loud, but only of recording.
Does the body of the guitar needs to be big? Does it make difference? I have seen empty-bodied eletric guitars and I wonder if this kind of instrument can be small or if the size is relevant like in acoustic ones. Can it be played with no-nails right hand?

This is an example of the kind of sound i would be looking for:
https://youtu.be/_T6_qzwjR_A
Better than this only the silence. Better than the silence only John.

Semi acoustic, neck pickup with the tone rolled off. Tapper Mike is your man in the guitar thread.
viewforum.php?f=298
Is materialism devouring your musical output? :ud:

Yeah, this belongs in the guitars subforum.

This looks like a comprehensive article: https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Electric_guitar

Any questions?
If I plug It on an audio interface, I can record It with great quality of sound or I need other equipment?
Your interface needs a so-called "Hi-Z" (high impedance) input. That's always a 6.3mm (1/4") TS (tip-sleeve) "jack" connection, like a big headphone plug. Usually the manual will state it's usable for instruments, the front panel might have a small guitar icon next to the input.
This is an example of the kind of sound i would be looking for