How do you use Sampler in Ableton Live 10 Suite?

Sampler and Sampling discussion (techniques, tips and tricks, etc.)
Post Reply New Topic
RELATED
PRODUCTS

I just finished my free trial, so I don't really have access to a hands on experience, but I'm wondering if anyone can explain. What does Sampler do?

Thank you for any information. I tried searching the ableton knowledge base and putting a thread on their forum without desirable results. More specifically, I asked what the Templates within Sampler do.

:party:

bump

I use Sampler mainly for building instruments from my samples (stuff I recorded myself). It does what samplers do ... :)

I guess I don't know what samplers do. I've never used it before. Do you record, like, with a microphone to create a sample?

If you mean "what does it do that I can't do with Simpler...?" then I'd say it gives you a lot more modulation sources and targets, frequency modulation, velocity layers, various syncing types for envelopes, and easy conversion back to Simpler if you decide different slicing options are more appropriate amongst others.

Although admittedly, it would be nice if they added the new simpler options from 9.5 to Sampler too.

You don't record into it but you can just record audio on another track, create new midi track, drag audio to the instrument space to create a simpler, right click header, select "simpler>sampler", so not really more than a few seconds work.

Incomplete list of my gear: 1/8" audio input jack.

I found this video somewhat enlightening...

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=OgpZWVFdoWQ

spendthrift2 wrote:I guess I don't know what samplers do. I've never used it before. Do you record, like, with a microphone to create a sample?
...dude is literally asking "what is a Sampler"

if you're smart enough to make an account and post here, you're smart enough to google Samplers and figure out what they're for :tu: