I want to get better in music production

If you are new here check this forum first, your question may have been answered.
RELATED
PRODUCTS

Hello everyone,

I am a newbie in music making. I have been trying to create music for almost 3 years now but only for the fun and nothing serious, but my intentions are switched now and I want to get better in it. I can’t play the keyboard altough I own one, but only with 25 keys which is not very pleasend to learn it on. I have a teenage engineering Po33 which is very fun to use and I own a pair of presonus eris e4.5, yamaha hph mt5 headphones and ableton live. My Pc is a slow machine from 8 years old, but I dont have the cash for a new one atm:( and I also dont own a audio interface.

I try to make detroit electro kind of music. Example of a track im working on;

https://soundcloud.com/coentromer/vanta ... on/s-ltMzP

So if you listin to it it sounds very empty, because its in the early stages, but I dont really got that real electro vibe.. I use a 808 drumkit which lots of use, but the synths etc. I dont know.. It doesnt really is the thing. Can someone who got experience in this genre give me tips? My first thought it that I use the wrong scale or something and the wrong synth.

Next question is about my gear. I only have a 200€ budget right now so a new pc is not gonna work sadly. I try to sell my nektar impact lx25 keyboard, because is only use it for finding the right note and not for actually playing music. Maybe i need to upgrade to 49 keys keyboard to get better in it, because I feel really stuck now with playing live. A step sequencer would also be handy for a noob like me. And for a audio interface, I dont really see the purpose of it because I dont use a mic, have no synths and my monitors are pluged in to the 3.5 mm jack input of my pc. Damn I would love to get my hands on a korg volca, but I dont really think thats handy to purchase right now.