How often do you use fast attack for leveling peaks?

If you are new here check this forum first, your question may have been answered.
Post Reply New Topic
RELATED
PRODUCTS

Hi everyone! =)

I’ve been mixing for a while, but I’m not a pro. I keep going “back to basics” to improve my work and now I’m reviewing compression.

Everybody says that compression is meant to work mainly as an automatic volume controller. In order to grab peaks and even the level of an audio track, a fast attack would be the logical setting.

However, I’ve never seen a pro mixing engineer using a fast attack setting for peak controlling. By fast I mean really fast.

How often do you find yourself using a compressor to even out the level of a signal and how do you set it up? Do you set the attack fast?

Sorry if it’s a silly question, but I’m not being able to figure it out by myself.

Thanks!!

Dynamics controller, not volume 8)

In psytrance, there's often wild peaks. I tend to crush them with lookahead limiter. Lookahead compressor is fine too, with attack set to fast and release to taste but limiter has less knobs :hihi:

Preemphasis + saturator does the trick - it works on any material, no matter how fast attack time. You can't achieve same effect with any limiter. In fact the sharp, high-freq spikes often occur at the very start of a sample. Cut them and then it sounds smooth.
Blog ------------- YouTube channel
Tricky-Loops wrote: (...)someone like Armin van Buuren who claims to make a track in half an hour and all his songs sound somewhat boring(...)

1176-style compressors have very fast attack and the knobs work backwards; so if you've seen anyone use CLA-76 with the attack knob turned clockwise, you've seen them crush the peaks with a compressor.

But often it's good to leave the peaks alone and use a slower compressor. Peaks sound good... until they cause pumping.