What is wrong with music theory?

Chords, scales, harmony, melody, etc.
RELATED
PRODUCTS

Hi, dear forum members. I am new to music theory lessons and I am searching to find some music theory lessons videos and currently found some on Youtube. Is it worth do learn music theory from online videos or will I learn more from the books. There a re plenty of videos out there and they say exactly the same things except maybe that:

Treatise On Pentatonics - video preview

Since music theory is the 'math' of music (don't get scared) you should probably take a course at a University. You will need the discipline of guided instruction to gain any substantial benefit. Otherwise, you may just glean a small bit of information that wouldn't do you much good. Ear training is also important IMO...

You could start with something like this to get a feel for things...it's basically a system of flash cards to help you with sight reading, intervals, semantics, etc.

JR

You can teach yourself theory. I know of one example where an electronic musician taught himself music theory just so he could get TV commercial scoring jobs and now he does all kinds of that stuff.

#1: Drink lots of coffee (chain smoke if you can)
#2: Learn more every day for months and months and then probably continue learning for years and years
#3: Don't let people you tell you that you cant successfully self learn
#4: College has nothing on google, you will never run out of information
A guy walks into a laundry run by cats. "Excuse me", he said to the cat in charge, "Can you get milk stains out?" "Sure," replied the cat. "We'll have that stain licked in a minute!"