Want to understand music

Chords, scales, harmony, melody, etc.
RELATED
PRODUCTS

Hi All,

I am an amateur pianist since I am a teenager. I have learned first only by remembering each key, then tried to memorize chords...

Now, I am very ambitious but I allow me years for that project: I would like to understand the music, I keep asking myself these kinds of questions (examples)
Why this chord progression sounds good?
Why using a add9 or maj9 instead of a typical major chord or minor chord?
How can I assign chords myself for a song?

What kind of source would you recommend to me for my project (book,web?) I want to understand what I play, I am ready to study months or years šŸ¤“

Moreover, do you know any sources (web, book) where someone analyse score sheet/songs of famous nice song?

Thanks in advance!

Thierry
Thierry

Have you tried Udemy?

There are a lot of music theory courses there.
Last edited by karlingen on Sun Nov 22, 2020 8:19 am, edited 2 times in total.
Karlush
Spotify

search youtube for the What Makes This Song Great series.
the same channel (Rick Beato) has lots of seminars on theory also.
the other channel I suggest looking for is Mangold Project.

Find a teacher. Having dialogs in person works best. He can give you assignments based on your interests and level. No book or online course can substitute.
We are the KVR collective. Resistance is futile. You will be assimilated. Image
My MusicCalc is served over https!!

Thanks for your advices,
@karlingen:kaI do know Udemy but never thought about it regarding music theory, good call!
@acYm: thanks for sharing those relevant YouTube channels
@BertKoot: Fully agree, I tries but did not find the good teacher probably, could be a good option post-Covid.
Thierry

ChordLord for Renoise 3.

in v1.8.217 there are 217 chord types to all scales/keys, in any tonic/note, inversions, full notation display, full english names, all notes in all chords on display..