Steinberg SDK comparison: VST 3 vs. VST 2.4

DSP, Plugin and Host development discussion.
RELATED
PRODUCTS

I'm very new at VST development (literally, this is day two of my adventure!) and curious if anyone is using the new VST 3 SDK.

It's not so new now anymore, yet I don't see much reference to it online (in developer areas such as this) nor are any of my recently downloaded/purchased VSTs indicating they are v.3 VSTs (Ableton Live kindly displays the VST version next to each).

Given the outline of VST v.3 on Steinberg's web site, the quoted "improved performance" (wonder how much?), ability to resize windows, and support for 64-bit (presumably impossible with prior versions?) seem to be the stand outs, at least for me.

Oddly, though, I've been having a very hard time compiling a VST successfully with the VST3 SDK. I've had no problems whipping out (albeit very simplistic) VSTS with VST2.4 SDK. For the record, I'm using VC++ 2010 Express.

Perhaps this is an issue encountered as well by other more advanced programmers? Is VST3 a little more finicky?

I think I'm going to stick with VST2.4 for now... I don't think most DAWs will be removing support for it anytime soon?

MRULTRA wrote:Given the outline of VST v.3 on Steinberg's web site, the quoted "improved performance" (wonder how much?),
IMO not much, if any.
MRULTRA wrote:ability to resize windows,
VST2 can do that, too.
MRULTRA wrote:and support for 64-bit (presumably impossible with prior versions?)
VST2 can do that, too.

The only improvement IMO is sample-accurate parameter automation without the need to slice the audio buffers - and VST2 could have implemented that easily, too.
"Until you spread your wings, you'll have no idea how far you can walk." Image

This is all wrong. VST3 has NO real advantages beside additional buses for side-chaining (but this feature could have been implemented in VST2.4).