What barre chords should I practice?

August 2019 is the first KVR Guitar Month so here's a new forum for discussion of all things guitar!
Henry Jimdrix
KVRist
76 posts since 16 May, 2020 from That would be telling

Post Sun May 17, 2020 3:16 am

I haven't been playing guitar that long and I'm self taught. I'm just starting on barre chords now, so wondered if anyone had any advice on what chords to practice first and if you have any tips on mastering barre chords.

xtp
KVRian
966 posts since 4 Jun, 2006

Post Sun May 17, 2020 4:27 am

Hi Henry,

hope this helps.

Do you know your chromatic scale? If not it is this;

C, C# [Db], D, D# [Eb], E, F,F# [Gb], G, G# [Ab], A, A# [Bb], B, C

Each time you slide a chord up a fret it will move along the chromatic scale, so a F major barre chord on fret 1 is a F# [Gb] major barre chord on fret 2.

The maj7 examples are not barre chords as such, don't play the x notes, they slide up just the same as barre chords

The second Major type [Bb], is quite hard to get used to. Play the 3 notes on the right with a second barre using your third finger, main barre with the first, and force your second finger straight, like you would if you give someone the one finger salute.

-------------------
Barre Chords+.jpg
-------------------

EDIT: Changed second minor chord to easier shape and added C shape in light of lfm's suggestion.
You do not have the required permissions to view the files attached to this post.
Last edited by xtp on Sun May 17, 2020 4:25 pm, edited 1 time in total.

Forgotten
KVRAF
11461 posts since 15 Apr, 2019 from Nowhere

Post Sun May 17, 2020 7:15 am

E Maj and E min are the most common shape to bar, then A Maj and A min. With those you should be good, but if you want to expand that you can add a lot more shapes.