Trying to only have to use ONE brand of Guitar VSTi going-forward (Shreddage wish-list)

Official support for: impactsoundworks.com
stpete111
KVRist
328 posts since 17 Jan, 2005

Post Wed May 27, 2020 10:00 am

I wanted to make this post without having to name other brands but I have to in order to get my points across.

I have been using Guitar VSTi's for almost 10 years now. At my worst ( :wink: ) I was going back and forth between 6 different ones. Now I am down to using three:

Amplesound (all of their acoustic and electric guitars)
Orange Tree Samples Evolution Guitars
Shreddage 3 (Shreddage 2 for the last 5 years)

I have finally gotten my Bass VSTi library down to just one that I use solely which feels great. I want to do the same for my Guitar VSTi - Shreddage by far and away is the most realistic-sounding to my ears, so that alone makes it the one I really want to go for - but there are features I use in the other 2 that Shreddage does not have (or at least I don't think it does).

I think it's important to note here that I am a guitar player - I realized several years ago that when I write something on guitar, I prefer to then program it into the DAW in a Guitar VSTi, and this just makes for better-sounding recordings. So keep in mind that I'm a guitar player, not a keyboard player.

If these features could get implemented into Shreddage somehow, I would be a customer for life (not that I'm not already) and I could stop using the others:

1. Custom Chords - both AS and OT allow you to enter chords on a virtual fretboard, and then trigger those chords with just one MIDI note. This is the biggest missing requirement for me.

2. A Strumming interface - both AS and OT have a strumming interface with strumming presets - this coupled with item number 1 allows you to program MIDI with just 2 notes - one for the chord, and one for the strum pattern.