Login / Register 0 items | $0.00 New @ KVR
AmpliTubebyIK Multimedia

User Reviews by KVR Members for AmpliTube

Rate & Review AmpliTube Now!

Reviewed By Peel [read all by] on 27th July 2003
Version reviewed: 1.1.1 on Windows.
Last edited by Peel on 6th November 2004.
2 of 2 people found this review helpful.
Was it helpful to you? Yes No
Out of Warp, Revalver and Amplitube, this is far and away my favourite.
Compared to Warp, it is far more flexible, with more features and a wider variety of sounds. And Warp's sound is not, to my ears, particularly impressive.
Compared to Revalver, it is perhaps slightly less flexible since it has a linear rather than a modular design. To me, Revalver can also match Amplitube on simple clean sounds. But other than that, Ampitube sounds much better to me: it doesn't have that exagerated, gimicky sort of sound that I often hear in Revalver and some hardware modelling units (like the first POD units).
UI: Looks nice, easy to understand, kind of big & 3 pages long, but there's a lot to fit in there.
Sound: Very good. The effects are modeled after typical guitar stompboxes and such. The spring reverb is very nice.
Features: Plenty. Maybe the mic simulator could be a little more flexible. Some people might find the pre-amp pedals or the post-amp effects superfluous.
Docs: Very nice; they explain the routings and talk a bit about the hardware that is being emulated.
Presets: Quite a few and a good range.
Customer support: Never used it, but I'm penalizing them for their challenge-response system (didn't cause me any problems but I don't like it).
VFM: Obviously if you're comparing it to hardware, it's dirt cheap. But I think it's more reasonable to compare it to similar software. Difficult to do since nothing else quite does what it does. Its price is about what I'd expect for a plug of this quality and with these features, but these days there are so many cheap/free plugs that offer *some* of the funtionality of Amplitube (simulanalog guitar suite, green machine are of special note), a lot of people probably will probably feel that the price could be a little lower.
Stability: Some people have reported crashes or problems when using more than one instance, but I've had none. Edit: I've now encountered some stability issues. First, the plug seems to suffer from the P4 denormal problem, which by this point is simply inexcusable. Second, the plug sometimes just "gives up" and begins outputting nothing but intermittent pops, requiring me to unload & reload it.

Click here to read all 3 reviews

Discussion

Discussion

Discussion: Active
nickp405
nickp405
19 February 2014 at 11:49pm

So what is exactly new??

THIS POST HAS BEEN REMOVED

BlackWinny
BlackWinny
20 February 2014 at 12:53am

Amps, preamps, stompboxes, speaker cabinets, mics, effects... all modeled on famous vintage hardwares used by reknowed guitarists and bassists.

Extract from the text : "AmpliTube 3 contains over 160 pieces of gear including models from the most sought-after vintage collections and modern day workhorses. You'll get 51 individual stompboxes and effects, 31 amplifier preamp & power sections, 46 speaker cabinet models, 15 high end stage and studio mics, and 17 post amp rack effects. Plus, with the AmpliTube 3 open architecture, you can add more packages as you need them."

nickp405
nickp405
20 February 2014 at 1:54am

@blackwinny, I know all this. it was the same for version 3.11.1.

Im curious as to what has been updated, as I see no new amps or effects at IK.

Is it just plugin support for aax?

BlackWinny
BlackWinny
20 February 2014 at 2:43am

I think yes. Just support to AAX... plus as usual a correction of a few bugs.

But I suggest you to ask directly on their Amplitube forum, here :

http://www.ikmultimedia.com/forum/viewforum.php?f=5

Don't forget to be precise, asking for 3.11 should not be the same as asking for 3.11.2 for example.

And the best should be to ask... where the hell are the release notes for Amplitube on their website ? Because I must confess that in two years that I use it... I have myself never found them.

I you ask it, sure I shall see your question since I follow everyday their forums for Amplitube, TRackS, Sampletank and Sampletron.

fizzicist
fizzicist
2 April 2015 at 9:30pm

Why is KVR sending notification that Amplitude has a "new version" (v3.1.4) as of today (2015-04-02). Version 3.1.4 was released on 2014-07-17. According to the IKM website, v3.1.4 is the latest version.

THIS POST HAS BEEN REMOVED

osmancigil
osmancigil
1 May 2015 at 8:36am
Ryan_IK
Ryan_IK
11 June 2018 at 5:31pm

Hello Everyone!

Just to inform you, there is a free new update for AmpliTube in your the User Area -> My Products section (https://www.ikmultimedia.com/userarea/) of your IK Multimedia account. Make sure to download this and check out the new AmpliTube 4.6 version's general reliability improvements and integration for iRig Stomp I/O.

Learn more here.

Please log in to join the discussion

AmpliTube

Average user rating of 3.67 from 3 reviews

IK Multimedia
 My KVR - Version Control & Lists
Not In Your MY KVR Groups
(or group limitation prevents versioning)
295 people have added AmpliTube to 27 My KVR groups 353 times
+22 in private groups

KVR Rank (Based on page views)

Overall: 517  386  509

30-Day: 541; 7-Day: 604; Yesterday: 952

KVR Audio Plug-in MarketplaceDark Era
Advertisements