1. Plugins
  2. »
  3. Tone Projects
  4. »
  5. BassLane
  6. »
  7. Reviews

BassLane

 My KVR
Imaging Plugin by Tone Projects

BassLane has an average user rating of 4.50 from 2 reviews

Rate & Review BassLane

User Reviews by KVR Members for BassLane

Reviewed By Arglebargle [read all by] on 16th December 2009
Version reviewed: 1.2 on Windows
3 of 3 people found this review helpful.
Was it helpful to you? Yes No
BassLane is a GREAT little utility plugin! If you have issues with a certain area of the spectrum being too wide, this is the solution for you.

For instance, you're mixing live drums but don't like the wide sound of the kick and/or snare. Pop this on the overheads, turn the width knob to mono, and select a frequency between, say, 300 Hz and 1 kHz (or whatever). Instantly tightens up the low end of the kit while preserving the space of things like hi-hats and cymbals.

Another application is wide synth basses, which are common in modern soft-synths. Use BassLane to make the lows and mids dead to center while leaving stereo content in the upper region.

Yes, this stuff can be accomplished with a standard filter plugin and multiple tracks, but it's a pain in the butt. BassLane makes it quick and easy.

No complaints about the interface, it's straightforward and simple. You can listen to the dry and wet portions of the signal, to quickly tell how the plug is affecting the material.

All in all, I find this an indispensable mixing tool, and best of all it's free!
Reviewed By Har [read all by] on 30th January 2007
Version reviewed: 1.2 on Windows.
Last edited by Har on 30th January 2007.
5 of 5 people found this review helpful.
Was it helpful to you? Yes No
I recently discovered Basslane when I was looking for a way to center/mono the deep bass frequencies of a Chapman Stick track I had recorded that featured a tempo-delay on it, while leaving the upper frequencies unaffected in the stereo field. Originally the track had everything ping-ponging left and right and when mixed with the backing tracks, the deep bass notes were completely lacking in punch, as you usually want bass as close to center to achieve that.

Basslane was the perfect solution for this: after setting the cutoff frequency of its LPF (the pre/post monitoring options really help with this) and collapsing just frequencies below that to mono, the deep bass tones became solid and punchy while leaving the upper frequencies to bounce around in the stereo field.

I imagine this could also be really useful for situations where you have a full stereo mix of a song where the bass was recorded in stereo and lacking punch. Running such a pre-mixed track through BassLane would let you zero in on the bass frequencies and pull them in towards center.

Highly recommended. :-)

Latest 2 reviews from a total of 2

Comments & Discussion for Tone Projects BassLane

Discussion
Discussion: Active
bobbz
bobbz
22 October 2012 at 8:14am

Ive been working on some tracks for a few months now, but always felt they lacked detail and oomph when compared to records and CDs. I know professional mastering is near impossible to emulate, but I was sure I could get mine better. I remixed them using Basslane on everything where it would be needed ( I had a lot of stereo pads and wide leads), and Oh My God, the new sound is incredible, bass and drums much more punchy and detailed and much more space and presence of the stereo sounds, all the mixes sounded 100 times better, absolutley gobsmacked with them now. I cannot recomend this FREE Plug In enough, absolutely essential !!

Thankyou Tone Projects x

neytcev
neytcev
2 September 2020 at 6:05am

Waiting AU version.

Vospi
Vospi
2 September 2020 at 11:55am

Get any M/S equalizer.

That is what this is. And much more.

QRange is free.

neytcev
neytcev
2 September 2020 at 1:22pm

I like too much some older stuff, as they offer a beautiful vision,
as well that aesthetic is presented in their formation algorithms.

Vospi
Vospi
2 September 2020 at 8:26pm

...what?
What is a "formation algorithm"?

This thing above is a Side low-pass filter. This is ALL it is. You take any equalizer that is capable to work with side channel, you filter the lows out. It will do exactly the same, and you won't have to "wait for AU version".

Don't get all esoteric. :) This is a computational tool, not a crystal ball.

neytcev
neytcev
2 September 2020 at 8:38pm

What are you talking about? :)
Peeeeace.

P.P.
https://www.soundspot.audio/downloads/msw2-stereo-imaging-audio-plugin/

neytcev
neytcev
2 September 2020 at 8:48pm

Эй, Серёжа, мы все имеем право на мечты ...

THIS POST HAS BEEN REMOVED

Please log in to join the discussion