Login / Register 0 items | $0.00 New @ KVR

User Reviews by KVR Members for Bitwig Studio

Rate & Review Bitwig Studio Now!

Reviewed By capracan [read all by] on 9th September 2018
Version reviewed: 2.3.5 on Windows.
Last edited by capracan on 9th September 2018.
1 of 4 people found this review helpful.
Was it helpful to you? Yes No

Das Rating ist so, weil ich es für mich in dem Umfang nutzen kann, ohne größere Defizite zu haben. Weiterhin, weil auch die Lizenzphilosophie für mich aktuell okay ist. Die Bitwigger leisten sehr gute Arbeit auch mit der Community, die wirklich schnell gewachsen ist. Natürlich hat jeder Newcomer seine kleinen Defizite, doch ich bin sehr optimistisch, dass da noch einiges gutes ansteht.

Ich habe seit Jahren FL benutzt. Die losen Fenster, die grafischen Dinge vor allem, sind leider nicht schön. Dinge, die man auch nicht einfach modifizieren kann. Seit Bitwig als Nebenspieler zu Ableton, hat mich dann doch sehr überzeugt, eine andere Strategie zu versuchen und mich nicht mit dem umherschieben der Fenster zu beschäftigen. Wer schon mal eine DAW unter den Fingern hatte, wird relativ intuitive mit Bitwig arbeiten können. Sicher war es in FL auch nicht so kompliziert. Ich bin fähig mit allen DAW's wenigstens die Basics zu verstehen, da ich fast alle probiert habe. Somit war Bitwig kein Problem. Ich kenne DAW's die sind da anders.

Als nun Bitwig ins Haus kam, konnte ich relativ fehlerfrei meine Plugins implementieren, 32 und 64-bit, meine Samples einfügen und schon loslegen. Super einfach, mit geringem Grundwissen über das Programm. Die feste Struktur und GUI macht es sehr einfach Überblick zu bekommen und zu behalten. Die Chains sind wirklich wahnsinnig hilfreich, wenn man Effekt-Ketten hinter seinen Synthies legt. Das Anreihen von Tools ist einfach und übersichtlich. Und alles in einer Chain-Datei speicherbar. Somit hat man immer das komplette Paket und kann seine favorisierten Sounds jederzeit finden und wieder benutzen. Jedes Plugin wird in eine Bitwig-Eigene Form gebracht, die nur aus Knöpfen besteht, somit muss die GUI des Plugins nicht offen sein. Leider kann diese Knopf-Liste unangenehm lang werden, wo man sich gerne mal eine zweite oder dritte Reihe wünscht. Jedes Plugin startet in einer Sandbox, somit muss man bei Fehlern nicht das Programm neu starten, sondern nur das Plugin. Super .

Warum ich nicht Ableton nahm? Ich habe Ableton probiert, kam damit klar konnte es mir aber nicht leisten. Der Reiz des neuen hatte mich auch fasziniert und außerdem hat Ableton genug Nutzer, weswegen ich mich auch wirtschaftlich gesehen lieber für Bitwig entschied, das war kein Fehler. Die 12 Monatslizenz mag ein wenig unangenehm sein, aber wer es sich leisten kann und die Updatedate-Philosophie bisher okay fand wird gerne ein paar Credits für den next level sh*** hinlegen. Bitwig ist wirklich gut im Rennen und steht den anderen DAWs, bis auf wenige Dingen, in nichts nach. Es gibt da draußen sicher Musiker und Experten die evtl. spezielle Anforderungen haben, die Bitwig noch nicht erfüllen konnte oder erst noch wird, doch für mich reicht das zurzeit völlig aus, um komplexe Beats zu bauen in einem angenehmen Arbeitstempo.

Go Go Bitwig u have my Voice.

Cheers.

capracan/c.a.p./NOWISM.

Reviewed By SLiC [read all by] on 18th August 2018
Version reviewed: 2.4 on Windows
1 of 4 people found this review helpful.
Was it helpful to you? Yes No

It doesn't do everything, but what it does it unique and worth the cost.

Bitwig doesn't do everything, it isn't a 'standard' liner arrangement DAW or a Standard looper. Its a hybrid but it is also a modular synth, CV generator and creative and inspirational instrument-DAW...I think it has moved from a 'version' of Live with many requested features (like in clip editing) toi an entirely new type of creative DAW.

I rate it 5 out of 5 for what it is, other want it to be what it is not (Live has the same issue, some people want to use it as a standard DAW- its a designed to be a 'LIVE' instrument/creative arranger....Bitwig will get you a bit closer to a linear DAW with clips and racks, but wont replace Pro Tools if you are going to record a band.

What Bitwig 'is' is fast, fun, creative and a modulation/cv playground, a music tool modulates and adds life to your existing VST collection and puts a smile on your face.

I have found Bitwig at 2.4 very stable, more stable than my Live Suite and Cubase 9.5 which I also use occasionally. My other main DAW is Studio One 4 which compliments BWS Very Well.

Reviewed By technolife [read all by] on 17th August 2018
Version reviewed: 1 and 2 on Mac
5 of 8 people found this review helpful.
Was it helpful to you? Yes No

I purchased the first version in 2015. A lot of cools features but buggy as hell. I sent some emails some bugs and they stopped to reply at the 3rd one. (It was about a different bug each time).
I purchased the second version to support them saying to myself "they must have fixed those bugs to release this version". More nice features in this version, but still buggy as hell.

3 years after, the bugs in V1 are still not fixed and are in the V2 too. Plus for some project I can't even play them. (Audio Engine always crash).

It's embarrassing because it has a lot of nice features but it's not ready for a professional use with a lot of hardware and plugin. Its dev is maybe faster than Ableton Live, but maybe it's because Live takes the time to fix bugs before releasing something.
I'll check out in 10 years to see if it's usable but for now, back to Ableton, sorry Bitwig.

Reviewed By lriv5 [read all by] on 21st November 2017
Version reviewed: 2.2.2 on Windows
3 of 3 people found this review helpful.
Was it helpful to you? Yes No

All-around excellent DAW. Purchased Bitwig not long after seeing the announcement for Ableton Live 10 and being very disappointed. I've been a Live user since Live 7. It's been a great tool, but lacked a lot of workflow features that Bitwig simply nailed. The one flaw in Bitwig is that some of the buttons and functions onscreen aren't clear and can be a bit confusing. I find myself hovering over the buttons a lot to see if it's the function I want. That aside, it's a superb DAW with a great GUI, runs quickly with no crashes (yet) and the modulation possibilities are insanse. It allows for the intuitive and quick workflow of Live with excellent MIDI editing (like FL Studio). I was on the fence when it first launched. Got the demo version and wasn't terribly impressed, but with version 2, it really won me over. Highly recommend Bitwig.

Reviewed By senioreglyde [read all by] on 7th May 2017
Version reviewed: 2.1Beta5 on Windows
1 of 4 people found this review helpful.
Was it helpful to you? Yes No

I started using Bitwig 2 after obtaining the Roli Seaboard 49. After a while, I sold the Roli because Bitwig does MPE really easily with a mouse so after learning how it works, I went with the Nektar. Apparently, they need to re-calibrate Nektar to Bitwig 2 as the browser and presets have errors on them and some plugins won't work the same like the Korg Mono/Poly. It was mapped for Bitwig 1. That's really isn't saying much about Bitwig itself as software though. What I can say is that I have just fell right in love with it. The workflow is so well thought of. My favorite part is the clip launcher as it feels like a traditional DAW with automation and recording. Ableton wasn't as easy to use coming from Studio One V3. The Bitwig sampler works great with looping, the filter sounds the best that I have heard on a VST. I am used to Falcon by UVI and have a EMU 6400 Ultra and its quite close to that when it comes to holding the low end. The FX are really well done. Very usable. I also use a lot of UAD plugins so comparing to them, they fit well in the mix and not feeling that I need to purchase any other UAD plugs. Only reason why there is no 10 is because they still have some fixing to do with CPU compared to Studio One 3 which runs Imposcar at 10-15% of my CPU (i7 with 16 gigs of ram) That is even on every mode with Bitwig for Plugins settings. It spikes and it's about 25-50%. However, I don't leave plugins going all day long as I bounce when happy and re-sample if needed. Overall, workflow with Nektar is amazing still and when they fix up everything, itll be that much better but tbh, I use the mouse on things that slow me down with Nektar so its the ebst of both worlds. Programming synths it does amazing and if you save ur presets to bitwig browser then it's like having Komplete Kontrol for Bitwig. Oh, Bitwig Drum Machine, you can load VST Synths into it :D. You should download Bitwig 2 demo, it's a game changer. Very inspiring.

Reviewed By seipster [read all by] on 28th October 2016
Version reviewed: 2.4Beta2 on Linux.
Last edited by seipster on 15th August 2018.
0 of 3 people found this review helpful.
Was it helpful to you? Yes No

I have owned BitWig since the first day of its release and must admit it was love at first sight. (So you might already see how this review is gonna conclude...).

What BWS provided me was what I had not found in Ableton, a fast workflow that bridged the way I worked in other my other DAWS (Cubase and Reaper) and live performance.

After some time I also found that the native plugs and instruments is really powerful with a lot of functionality and sounds good.

I still use Reaper for tracking (Since its by far the fastest DAW I ever worked with for tracking), but all production, mixing and performance I now do in Bitwig.

I also love the fact that you get three licenses when you buy it so that you can have the Software both on a desktop machine in your studio and on a laptop (plus av bkup-laptop for redundancy) for live performance.

(And a big plus for giving the Linux crowd a really good pro DAW.).

Conclusion:

+ Super fast intuitive workflow.

+ Very good for production, mix and live performance (I still use another DAW for tracking).

+ A lot of good native plugs and instruments. The sampler upgrade in 2.4 as well as the addition of the Phase-4 from 2.3 is great.

+ Good multi-platform support (big plus for Linux).

+ Very good support for a wide variety of controllers and open-source API for scripting new controllers.

+ Plus for giving three licenses for three PCs/MACs when you buy it.

Reviewed By yoshi303 [read all by] on 21st September 2015
Version reviewed: 1.2b7 on Windows
1 of 5 people found this review helpful.
Was it helpful to you? Yes No

hello, i will use the google trad button [FR>uk-us] to traduce what i really think about BITWIG STUDIO 1.2. If u can learn french u'll notice some differences...

lets go, .

.

UK-US :

(let's) BACK TO THE pH'UTURE ! (a new vulture is born)

(most people are afraid to step forward ...)

On which configuration you use this software?

Linux.. & also Win 10 x64 - i7 2600k - 16 GB RAM - 1 SSD 256 MB + 3x 1TB HDD ...

Saffire Pro 24 soundcard
4 synths HW .. twenty plugs (not more)

For what kind of use and music?

Electronic music...

Is it stable?

Yes always ! Bitwig never plant a current project or even the backups, it is programmed to display only one way INTERFACE "AND SEPARATELY treat all other AUDIO signals ds a different process. This makes it unique (level stability).
which means ... => if a plug plant just clik "reboot CE PLUG" program not crash. NO SOUND AND CUT IN LIVE. (no loss!)


Resource hungry?

no more than another xworkstation to my knowledge ...

Is the software well documented?

yes if you understand English / German or Japaneze which becomes mandatory spent these years ......

Is it easy to handle and to use?

SO !! This is unheard of, let's say .... finally cubase was nice (if u know how to fast do it well), studio one v2 also ... ableton live was not bad but too limited ds workflow that is "ke do what we think in less than 'a second".....

another +: I like to work on multiple projects simultaneously ds the same window (with a system of tabs ...), where I can insert from one to the other track / groups / effects .. "dessuite" as well .. !!!

The effects, instruments and sounds they are included good quality?

MADe IN GERMANY, Berlin !!!! (I mean it's SERIOUS!)

-the instrumentals included I tested too, just to point out that they are MODULAR / MODULAR ..... (More on bitwig)

-The factory sounds: we have some GOOD drum kits, of which the best known
I too tested the electro pianos (if y '?) ..

(all is downloadable from the update "collection tab"...)

+ EFFECTS (1A). (COME IN TO THE FACT!) -> Ki so for those accustomed to clik on a KNOWN button and pull the wheel UP DOWN .... you will POINT disoriented ...... (or not at all)

(found in most of Ableton Live plugs) but not all !!! for example it must be reported: you must disbursed to third plugin (3rd party) to have a "beat repeat" like Ableton Live .... ds
(this is where I find the price of bitwig a bit expensive compared to direct competition: live studio ....) 700€ vs 300...

+ EFFECTS BITWIG (1d) => Ableton' limit where you (for example) ds time a phaser over time .... LETS YOU BITWIG MODULATE ALL PARAMETERS OF EACH DEVICE INCLUDED !!! YES ALL .... !!! Over time, the delay, the wet / dry ... EVERYTHING .... ALL THAT IS INCLUDED so !!!! WELCOME 2020: D.

(enjoy MOD devices !!)

you can get out of the effects of ill ............ stuff follies, we're just limited by our imaghination and not by the program.

free AT LAST !!!!
(I never felt that way for almost 40 years spent on the synths and DAWS !!)

THUNDER SO !!!!

What are the things you enjoy most and least?

Ds + version 1.1 lacked groups (groups of groups etc ...)

(ds rectified this version 1.2 Beta7 now in my hands: D)

- I know if I get to get used to this new way ...BIG BROWSER media bay cubase .... I preferred that of the 1.1 ke k 'this is my opinion!

What aspects or functions did you choose this program over another?

+ I could also go to PRESONUS STUDIO ONE V3 TOP to me for contriving MASTERING (work in 64-bit audio !!!!)

+ but when it is .. CREATION, THE BASIS OF ITS ALL. I could not miss the session mode included ds=IN the arrange the window of bitwig ....
+ modular .......... syncronisables effects.

+stable core interface (can't crash, can you ?), stable 32-bits + 64-bits audio processes... like i said.

+ To sognaler: communaté DEVS ki supports PUSH FOR BITWIG, APC 40 FOR BITWIG etc ....

+ Is a console to edit MIDI controller etc ....

==========>

THE GERMAN BITWIG' are world champions. (I think they got tired of looking at it on the side when they hang redeeming feature in Ableton) so they created <<DAW>> for THE ULTIMATE DJ,

Simply.

because PERFECTION DOES NOT EXIST.

9.7 / 10.

Reviewed By jaredf [read all by] on 29th June 2014
Version reviewed: 10.9.3 on Mac
3 of 10 people found this review helpful.
Was it helpful to you? Yes No

Bitwig shows much promise however still lacks many basic features, multitimbral instruments, VST3 support, MIDI routing, automation tools, grouping, fades... + many more. But what it does do it does extremely well. Awesome modular system with incredible containers. I can't wait for this DAW to come of age and shed it's bugs.

Reviewed By tommyzai [read all by] on 7th May 2014
Version reviewed: 1.0.8 on Mac.
Last edited by tommyzai on 7th May 2014.
6 of 6 people found this review helpful.
Was it helpful to you? Yes No

*Disclaimer: I'm a songwriter, producer, and educator. My writing style may read like a billboard ad, but my user review is sincere and authentic. I only appraise a product I consider extraordinary, hence the high rating. I don't work for the developer. In fact, I rarely work at all. :-) I hope you find my review useful. — Tommy Zai

INTRO

Bitwig Studio is a slick new DAW that effectively combines the best features of linear and live-based music production software. It's still a baby at v1, but I'm sure it won't be long before we can call it "full-featured." It boasts a fresh, new coding and has a clean interface that is user friendly and doesn't get in the way of creativity. The inspector is very intelligent and neatly designed. It has three main views (arrangement, mixer, and edit). Experienced eMusic trackers will feel right at home with the relationship between arrange and mix (clip) page, which can appear on the same page or may be toggled between. The relationship between these two views is really tight. The edit view is where you can alter MIDI clips and edit audio. The mixer is easy to configure and is responsive. During my demoing, I discovered all the usual DAW stuff and some pleasant surprises along the way. Bitwig Studio offers many basic workstation features; however, its real strength is in music creation.

FAVORITE FEATURES

  • Streamlined application footprint at 300MB.
  • Clean interface and fast, but detailed workflow — looks and feels nice.
  • Fast loading time and library scan with crash prevention when plugins fail (kept safely and conveniently in individual containers).
  • Effective browser and sample clip management.
  • Single clips can host multiple audio files, which is great for loop manipulation.
  • Clip animation during selection.
  • View options play nice together.
  • Histogram to illustrate parameter changes in real time.
  • "Hybrid" tracks allows users to bounce sections of a MIDI instrument track to audio — very cool.
  • Global modulation.
  • Assignable LFOs to set up modulation intensity.
  • Global overdubs.
  • Layered MIDI editing for simultaneous multiple tweaking.
  • Jack support.
  • Automation.
  • Responsive channel strips and VU meters.
  • Extremely stable considering it's a v1 release.
  • Open API enable scripting options.
  • Innovative, energetic developer.

OTHER THOUGHTS

  • Track grouping would be a nice feature.
  • Rewire would be a nice feature.
  • Wish it had a scalable, customizable GUI color scheme option.
  • I heard there might be some sort of internet collaboration coming soon.
  • Using this DAW did not scare away my muse.

SUMMARY

Bitwig Studio is a dream DAW for any eMusician, producer, DJ, etc., who yearns for a hybrid platform that falls somewhere between the likes of Logic/Cubase and Live — leaning a bit more towards the latter. Bitwig Studio effectively bridges that gap and adds much, more. It does a great job of enabling and inspiring creativity without sucking the life out of it. This DAW is clearly, "Designed by musicians, for musicians." Although this might not be the workstation choice for dedicated old-time, linear chaps, it will certainly appeal to those who are comfy working in a hybrid, loop/clip-based environment. Tommy Zai gives Bitwig Studio two thumbs up. Thank you Bitwig, for creating such a groovy, new DAW. One can only imagine the power packed by later versions.

*I'm sure later updates will bump my rating up and over 10.

Latest 9 reviews from a total of 9

Discussion

Discussion

Discussion: Active
Pat2070
Pat2070
19 January 2012 at 8:43pm

This looks exciting! MAybe it will be the new king in town?

pinbot
pinbot
29 January 2012 at 4:09am

This does look like something I might buy! I can't wait to see how this program progresses!

Bill H.
Bill H.
30 January 2012 at 10:08am

Has anyone tried contacted them? I asked them (politely :) ) a few questions about sound quality and stability, no answer after more than a week.. :(

RadioSmash
RadioSmash
3 February 2012 at 3:45pm

Looks alot like Ableton Live... Interesting.

alexvaan
alexvaan
22 April 2017 at 3:07pm

https://www.youtube.com/channel/UCK1lwfFPuKwAiQ3QJudOmRA.

vonvalley
vonvalley
9 February 2012 at 5:40pm

looks like something that the linux audio production world has been waiting for a long time. Interesting.

ResonanceMan
ResonanceMan
30 April 2012 at 4:43pm

still waiting for the Beta. I suggested a few features they should definitely have. Fingers crossed!

alexvaan
alexvaan
22 April 2017 at 3:07pm

https://www.youtube.com/channel/UCK1lwfFPuKwAiQ3QJudOmRA.

SonnyBonnier
SonnyBonnier
5 June 2012 at 8:55am

Any news?

danboid
danboid
11 October 2012 at 2:44pm

Seeing as there is to be a Linux version can anyone confirm Bitwig will support JACK?

I wonder if those who signed up as beta testers and got chosen had to agree to an NDA?

Artales
Artales
11 October 2012 at 2:57pm

Yes it does support JACK.

alexvaan
alexvaan
22 April 2017 at 3:07pm

https://www.youtube.com/channel/UCK1lwfFPuKwAiQ3QJudOmRA.

mindbeet
mindbeet
30 October 2016 at 12:34am

Hate to be that negative guy, but this DAW is a beta with a lot of problems for so many people (just read the forums). It has the potential to be the best but with heavy CPU-spikes, random crashes and lost songs and settings it is to stay away from... No need to start another debate, if it works for you, great! Just saying.

SoundGoddess
SoundGoddess
30 October 2016 at 2:34am

I have been pretty vocal about some of the crashes but they are quick to make things right. It has the best workflow I have experienced, very intuitive for me. It's worth sticking with if you want bleeding-edge features. Don't read into forum feedback too much, it is pretty solid overall. Adobe Creative Cloud stuff crashes from time to time too, and they are generally well-regarded as being stable and mature.

jinek
jinek
3 November 2016 at 4:12am

No legato clip mode. (http://answers.bitwig.com/questions/271/legato-clip-launch-mode?page=1#7487)

Touch mode is just for show, not for work as it misses a lot of critical functionality. (http://answers.bitwig.com/questions/6493/touch-screen-suggestions-tablet-mode?page=1#6501)

But finally this is a great product, with a lot of cool features comparing to ableton.

Mickey keys
Mickey keys
22 January 2017 at 7:40pm

Please we need a paint tool in the piano roll of BWS...... Its really important for drum sequencing... I think that's a big missing tool in BWS.... Especially considering hiphop trap producers that are many in this new age...

alexvaan
alexvaan
22 April 2017 at 3:08pm

https://www.youtube.com/channel/UCK1lwfFPuKwAiQ3QJudOmRA.

pboy
pboy
22 January 2017 at 8:38pm

And I would love some sort of "auto-tune" for audio. I love BWS but when recording certain instruments I have to bounce the track to a file, move it into Logic on another computer, apply appropirat tuning, bounce that down to a new file and import that file into my Bitwig project. Takes a few extra minutes with a USB stick handy, but as I said it would be really great to do everything inside Bitwig.

zettberlin
zettberlin
11 March 2017 at 11:19am

I am sure you heared that before, but what about playing/singing the part in the desired tune in the first place?

BW2 also has a pitch shifter device added, that may help you with importing material...

nettux
nettux
10 August 2017 at 3:29pm

I could not make it work in Fedora. I installed the JRE, I activated it as standard Java application, I did everything (apparently) correct. When I call it via terminal or via shortcut, it opens only the splash and nothing else ...

Octanone
Octanone
27 October 2017 at 9:39pm

foooking great!!!!!!.

Omega9
Omega9
31 December 2017 at 12:41am

It's almost 2018 and Bitwig can't change time signature by events, which is a pretty basic thing for any DAW. I really like everything, but this one thing makes Bitwig useless for me.

THIS POST HAS BEEN REMOVED

Please log in to join the discussion

Bitwig Studio

Average user rating of 3.89 from 9 reviews

Bitwig
 My KVR - Version Control & Lists
Not In Your MY KVR Groups
(or group limitation prevents versioning)
332 people have added Bitwig Studio to 17 My KVR groups 493 times
+12 in private groups

KVR Rank (Based on page views)

Overall: 265  206  263  19

30-Day: 329; 7-Day: 358; Yesterday: 618

EastWest Valentine's Day Sale Feb 11-20 33% OFF
Advertisements