Login / Register 0 items | $0.00 New @ KVR

User Reviews by KVR Members for Bitwig Studio

Rate & Review Bitwig Studio Now!

Reviewed By SLiC [read all by] on 18th August 2018
Version reviewed: 2.4 on Windows
1 of 3 people found this review helpful.
Was it helpful to you? Yes No

It doesn't do everything, but what it does it unique and worth the cost.

Bitwig doesn't do everything, it isn't a 'standard' liner arrangement DAW or a Standard looper. Its a hybrid but it is also a modular synth, CV generator and creative and inspirational instrument-DAW...I think it has moved from a 'version' of Live with many requested features (like in clip editing) toi an entirely new type of creative DAW.

I rate it 5 out of 5 for what it is, other want it to be what it is not (Live has the same issue, some people want to use it as a standard DAW- its a designed to be a 'LIVE' instrument/creative arranger....Bitwig will get you a bit closer to a linear DAW with clips and racks, but wont replace Pro Tools if you are going to record a band.

What Bitwig 'is' is fast, fun, creative and a modulation/cv playground, a music tool modulates and adds life to your existing VST collection and puts a smile on your face.

I have found Bitwig at 2.4 very stable, more stable than my Live Suite and Cubase 9.5 which I also use occasionally. My other main DAW is Studio One 4 which compliments BWS Very Well.

Click here to read all 9 reviews

Discussion

Discussion

Discussion: Active
Pat2070
Pat2070
19 January 2012 at 8:43pm

This looks exciting! MAybe it will be the new king in town?

pinbot
pinbot
29 January 2012 at 4:09am

This does look like something I might buy! I can't wait to see how this program progresses!

Bill H.
Bill H.
30 January 2012 at 10:08am

Has anyone tried contacted them? I asked them (politely :) ) a few questions about sound quality and stability, no answer after more than a week.. :(

RadioSmash
RadioSmash
3 February 2012 at 3:45pm

Looks alot like Ableton Live... Interesting.

alexvaan
alexvaan
22 April 2017 at 3:07pm

https://www.youtube.com/channel/UCK1lwfFPuKwAiQ3QJudOmRA.

vonvalley
vonvalley
9 February 2012 at 5:40pm

looks like something that the linux audio production world has been waiting for a long time. Interesting.

ResonanceMan
ResonanceMan
30 April 2012 at 4:43pm

still waiting for the Beta. I suggested a few features they should definitely have. Fingers crossed!

alexvaan
alexvaan
22 April 2017 at 3:07pm

https://www.youtube.com/channel/UCK1lwfFPuKwAiQ3QJudOmRA.

SonnyBonnier
SonnyBonnier
5 June 2012 at 8:55am

Any news?

danboid
danboid
11 October 2012 at 2:44pm

Seeing as there is to be a Linux version can anyone confirm Bitwig will support JACK?

I wonder if those who signed up as beta testers and got chosen had to agree to an NDA?

Artales
Artales
11 October 2012 at 2:57pm

Yes it does support JACK.

alexvaan
alexvaan
22 April 2017 at 3:07pm

https://www.youtube.com/channel/UCK1lwfFPuKwAiQ3QJudOmRA.

mindbeet
mindbeet
30 October 2016 at 12:34am

Hate to be that negative guy, but this DAW is a beta with a lot of problems for so many people (just read the forums). It has the potential to be the best but with heavy CPU-spikes, random crashes and lost songs and settings it is to stay away from... No need to start another debate, if it works for you, great! Just saying.

SoundGoddess
SoundGoddess
30 October 2016 at 2:34am

I have been pretty vocal about some of the crashes but they are quick to make things right. It has the best workflow I have experienced, very intuitive for me. It's worth sticking with if you want bleeding-edge features. Don't read into forum feedback too much, it is pretty solid overall. Adobe Creative Cloud stuff crashes from time to time too, and they are generally well-regarded as being stable and mature.

jinek
jinek
3 November 2016 at 4:12am

No legato clip mode. (http://answers.bitwig.com/questions/271/legato-clip-launch-mode?page=1#7487)

Touch mode is just for show, not for work as it misses a lot of critical functionality. (http://answers.bitwig.com/questions/6493/touch-screen-suggestions-tablet-mode?page=1#6501)

But finally this is a great product, with a lot of cool features comparing to ableton.

Mickey keys
Mickey keys
22 January 2017 at 7:40pm

Please we need a paint tool in the piano roll of BWS...... Its really important for drum sequencing... I think that's a big missing tool in BWS.... Especially considering hiphop trap producers that are many in this new age...

alexvaan
alexvaan
22 April 2017 at 3:08pm

https://www.youtube.com/channel/UCK1lwfFPuKwAiQ3QJudOmRA.

pboy
pboy
22 January 2017 at 8:38pm

And I would love some sort of "auto-tune" for audio. I love BWS but when recording certain instruments I have to bounce the track to a file, move it into Logic on another computer, apply appropirat tuning, bounce that down to a new file and import that file into my Bitwig project. Takes a few extra minutes with a USB stick handy, but as I said it would be really great to do everything inside Bitwig.

zettberlin
zettberlin
11 March 2017 at 11:19am

I am sure you heared that before, but what about playing/singing the part in the desired tune in the first place?

BW2 also has a pitch shifter device added, that may help you with importing material...

nettux
nettux
10 August 2017 at 3:29pm

I could not make it work in Fedora. I installed the JRE, I activated it as standard Java application, I did everything (apparently) correct. When I call it via terminal or via shortcut, it opens only the splash and nothing else ...

Octanone
Octanone
27 October 2017 at 9:39pm

foooking great!!!!!!.

Omega9
Omega9
31 December 2017 at 12:41am

It's almost 2018 and Bitwig can't change time signature by events, which is a pretty basic thing for any DAW. I really like everything, but this one thing makes Bitwig useless for me.

THIS POST HAS BEEN REMOVED

Please log in to join the discussion

Bitwig Studio

Average user rating of 3.89 from 9 reviews

Bitwig
 My KVR - Version Control & Lists
Not In Your MY KVR Groups
(or group limitation prevents versioning)
319 people have added Bitwig Studio to 17 My KVR groups 467 times
+12 in private groups

KVR Rank (Based on page views)

Overall: 188  144  188  16

30-Day: 175; 7-Day: 196; Yesterday: 286

Advertisements