Login / Register 0 items | $0.00 New @ KVR

User Reviews by KVR Members for ComboSister

Rate & Review ComboSister Now!

Reviewed By Rabid [read all by] on 9th December 2003
Version reviewed: 1.4 on Windows
1 of 3 people found this review helpful.
Was it helpful to you? Yes No
This is not your regular B3 clone and if you want B3 sounds, get NI’s B4. This VSTi covers the other organ sounds and does so very well. I picked up the expansion for NI’s B4 expecting great things, but honestly, ComboSister gives me something that B4 does not. It sounds like a combo organ you might find in a rock band. Not exactly like a Farfisa or Vox, but maybe like one you would hear on stage after the keyboardist sends it through his rig. The only thing I don't like is the interface. This VSTi is a much better value than the expansion for B4.
Reviewed By SonicVI [read all by] on 31st August 2003
Version reviewed: 1.32 on Mac.
Last edited by SonicVI on 2nd September 2003.
Was it helpful to you? Yes No
I'm glad Dash finally made a Mac version of Combo Sister. I'm a big fan of combo organs and am glad people are paying more attention to them. The Sister sounds really similar to the old combo organ sounds, though not exactly like any of them. I currently own a Vox Continental, and until recently a Farfisa Compact and the Sister doesn't really sound exactly like either one. Of the two though it can get closer to the Vox than the Farfisa sound. It just lacks the crisp fuzziness of the Farfisa's All Booster mode that typifies the classic Farfisa sound. There's also not a true representation of the four footages that make up the Continental's fourth drawbar. It would've been cool if Dash could've modeled the lo-fi Farfisa spring reverb sound too, though I suppose that would've added quite a bit to the CPU requirements. They did however let you dial in just how much noise you want with your organ. After all a combo organ without noise is like a synth without a filter. I think a volume control for the percussion would be quite useful as well. There are TONS of presets to get you going too, some of them very tame and some pretty weird. Like one of the other reviewers, I think the voice tabs should be gray when off and white when on, not the other way around. Other than the the interface is pretty simple and self explanitory. I think for $49 this VSTi is well worth the money.
Reviewed By VicDiesel [read all by] on 29th August 2003
Version reviewed: 1.32 on Mac.
Last edited by TennesseeVic on 2nd September 2003.
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Was it helpful to you? Yes No
(disclaimer: I beta tested the Mac OS X port)

This is a thoroughy fun piece of software. All those cheesy organ sounds from groups that couldn't afford a B3 are now within your reach. However, be sure that you are looking for that transistor organ sound, because this isn't anything like a B3. If you think the "strings" button will give you anything like a Solina strings, you are also wrong.

Let's put this a bit more positively. This is a very idiosyncratic instrument, and it's very good at what it does: reproducing that very retro sound, warts and all. It is also unique: there is nothing else like it.

There is a long list of presets, so that should get you under way to exploring the various possibilities of this organ.

I have a few complaints about the interface. Due to the way the light falls on the switches they are actually dim when on and bright when off. Also the layout is initially a little confusing, but I won't take you more than a minute to figure it out.

In the value-for-money category, you'll have to decide how much you're going to use this kind of sound. Personally, I find the price slightly high for a plug that I may use once in a very long while. But that's different for everyone. If you're screaming for this sound, then it's quite cheap.

On Mac OS X this plug works fine through the AU-VST adapter, but I hope DashSignature will make a native AU version anyway.
Reviewed By paul minot [read all by] on 8th July 2003
Version reviewed: 1.0 on Windows
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Was it helpful to you? Yes No
This plugin does what it says it will and does so very well. It is easy as pie to use, and has a really upfront nasal sound just like the real transistor organs did, with more editing possibilities available so you can make lots of messed up variants. I wouldn't mind a few more presets, especially some covering familiar vintage tunes ("96 Tears" and the like), and in fact I think it would help sell the plugin if Dash would go the extra mile here. Otherwise it's merely terrific, and just what I wanted.
Reviewed By casio hardcore [read all by] on 6th May 2003
Version reviewed: 1.0 on Windows
1 of 6 people found this review helpful.
Was it helpful to you? Yes No
I dont know why, but the moment I demo'd this pup a few months back, I fell in love. This synth reaks of pure transistor organ cheese and for that, it's in a class all by itself. The sounds are super-authentic and thus you can create everything from funky bass lines, cheese filled leads, a so so much more. The GUI is cool and to the point and a breeze to navigate. As a side-note; I also own NI B3 and I find that I use the Combosister way more. It's just wicked-cooler!
Reviewed By Stupid American Pig [read all by] on 19th December 2002
Version reviewed: 1.0 on Windows.
Last edited by S_A_P on 19th December 2002.
2 of 2 people found this review helpful.
Was it helpful to you? Yes No
This is a great Niche that Dash has carved out here. While there are lots of B3 imitators, there aren't many Farfisa emulators out there.

This synth will create anything from the cheezy 60's organ leads to growling chords to decent B3 sounds. The user interface is nice and clean and very easy to figure out. The tremelo and vibrato effects are nice touches as well. If you are looking for a great all purpose organ emulator for a very reasonable price- this is it...
Reviewed By Funkybot [read all by] on 19th December 2002
Version reviewed: 1.2 on Windows.
Last edited by Funkybot on 16th June 2003.
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Was it helpful to you? Yes No
I've been waiting and waiting for a combo organ VSTi that didn't cost 300 bucks [B4], and suddenly Combosister appeared. This instrument really does a great job of nailing all those classic Vox, Farfisa, etc combo organ tones, while covering all the areas in between them, and sounds going beyond any of them as well. The GUI is fairly nice, it's the nice redish/orange continental color, and does everything it's supposed to but it could be a bit more sexy (black/white key scheme or just a bit more organ looking). But that's really just me nitpicking. The presets are fairly marginal, but I expect some new ones will be on the way covering more vintage combo organ terrain. The manual could also probably use a bit of beefing up, but if your fairly familiar with how drawbars work you'll be able to play this one by ear fairly well. I'm using this in Sonar and have yet to have any trouble with the plug and Dash's costumer support is just great as well. If you like organ sounds this is an absolute must have plug-in, you can't nail those cheesey 60s pop/rock/surf sounds without this, and even if that's not your thing this can go way beyond all that. The price is right, it sounds great, check this out and be prepared to spend some time with this and love it.
Reviewed By wakax [read all by] on 18th December 2002
Version reviewed: 1.0 on Windows
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Was it helpful to you? Yes No
well - after some good organ emulation like NI's b4 and others (even good free ones) i still missed the vermona and farfisa cheese. but this vsti made me happy again. it is a really good modelled one and is cheap - its really hard to find a perfectly working vermona nowdays on synths market. i'm really glad that dash works turned out this way. i highly recomand this plug for jazzy / trip-hopish cinematic works. now lemme go back and play with it again :)

Latest 8 reviews from a total of 8

Discussion

Discussion

Discussion: Active

Please log in to join the discussion

ComboSister

Average user rating of 4.13 from 8 reviews

NUSofting
 My KVR - Version Control & Lists
Not In Your MY KVR Groups
(or group limitation prevents versioning)
27 people have added ComboSister to 3 My KVR groups 29 times
+1 in private groups

KVR Rank (Based on page views)

Overall: 5802  3781  5420

30-Day: 5392; 7-Day: 7533; Yesterday: 6178

KVR Marketplace
Advertisements