Login / Register 0 items | $0.00 New @ KVR

User Reviews by KVR Members for Dead Duck Deducktion

Rate & Review Dead Duck Deducktion Now!

Reviewed By V-Future [read all by] on 1st October 2018
Version reviewed: 1.02 on Windows.
Last edited by V-Future on 1st October 2018.
0 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Was it helpful to you? Yes No

This is a great basic synth, I love the oscillators, very useful for simple sounds like that old 80's style pop music, synthpop, retrowave etc. I would like to add an FM oscillator like in Synth1 and a phase knob, that's what it needs to be perfect. The filter responds really well, warm sound, the GUI is very functional. A lot of bugs were fixed, which is good. Best freeware synth I've used in 2018, 5 stars deserved.

Reviewed By lawramono [read all by] on 9th September 2018
Version reviewed: 1 on Windows
0 of 2 people found this review helpful.
Was it helpful to you? Yes No

this is the kinda synth ive been.

looking for. A basic synth with a modulation matrix..

Reviewed By evilplazma [read all by] on 5th September 2018
Version reviewed: 1.0.0 on Windows
1 of 2 people found this review helpful.
Was it helpful to you? Yes No

Nice layout of all parameters and also +1 for the added mod matrix.

Dead simple to use.

Sounds great for all sounds.

Reminds a tiny bit of NI Monark.

Latest 3 reviews from a total of 3

Discussion

Discussion

Discussion: Active
Turello
Turello
3 September 2018 at 11:33pm

Probably it deserve/need some starting preset... :-).

anr
anr
4 September 2018 at 5:49am

Yeah, some presets would have been handy, but i must admit, I had a fun hour or so making a few of my own for this little gem of a synth. I don't know about anyone else, but i think this is a great little bread and butter, hands-on VST which I'll be using for sure.

gridsleep
gridsleep
4 September 2018 at 12:45pm

To play when you are taking a break from Red Dead Redemption?

CndMn
CndMn
4 September 2018 at 4:08pm

There is a little problem. When I throw LFO on resonance in lowpass 24 mode, there is a constant crackling. Is it a problem with my computer or a bug?
In any case, a very good synthesizer.

swatwork
swatwork
6 September 2018 at 2:30pm

Hi, yes this is a bug. I'll put a fix in the next release, thanks for reporting.

Dave Schreier
Dave Schreier
5 September 2018 at 4:33am

Like it a lot - do miss cc64 sustain.

SparkySpark
SparkySpark
5 September 2018 at 10:57pm

Also good-looking (very clean UI, like the DD fx range) and is well explained on the DD website. Really a dev who keeps delivering.

LourivalFranco
LourivalFranco
6 September 2018 at 2:38am

I miss the legato/retriger modes when in mono, also Pulse Width control. But it's an amazing synth, 4 LFOs and 3 Envelopes.

swatwork
swatwork
6 September 2018 at 2:37pm

You can control the pulse-width using a Const modulator in the modulation matrix - set it to modulate Osc PW and set the amount between -50 and +50 for the desired pulse-width.

LourivalFranco
LourivalFranco
10 September 2018 at 11:38pm

Oh, thanks.

Reefius
Reefius
13 September 2018 at 8:14pm

This looks a lot like Maschine software.

akira2
akira2
14 September 2018 at 5:16pm

Your synth sounds good, you had my vote....but...I don't like the GUI...

I would like a full access to parameters, OSC, LFO, Env on the same panel and not a switch access...this is not user friendly.

(I'm ok with mod, ctrl, fx access).

Please add LFO & Env on the main panel below Osc, Filter..

Cheers .

smithoid
smithoid
23 September 2018 at 12:38pm

What a fantastic synth!.

My only wish is that the presets, banks and skins are not written to a "home" directory away from the VST dll directory. I use Reaper in portable form and its great to synchronise this through a Dropbox directory... but of course then everything for the VST's needs to be together. Is it possible for the "home" directory to be a sub-directory of the dll's location? Or at least give the option to choose the location rather than have it in Users\xxx\AppData\Local?

I love all the Dead Duck VST's.... and the fact they are self-contained!.

Cheers and thank you.

Paul.

swatwork
swatwork
30 September 2018 at 8:21am

Hi, the next release (1.0.3) will include an option for making the 'Home' folder portable.

THIS POST HAS BEEN REMOVED

THIS POST HAS BEEN REMOVED

THIS POST HAS BEEN REMOVED

THIS POST HAS BEEN REMOVED

THIS POST HAS BEEN REMOVED

THIS POST HAS BEEN REMOVED

THIS POST HAS BEEN REMOVED

THIS POST HAS BEEN REMOVED

THIS POST HAS BEEN REMOVED

smithoid
smithoid
3 October 2018 at 2:29pm

Cheers for that feature! I have downloaded version 1.0.3 but can't see how to set home directory.... am I being stupid?

Thanks.

Paul.

swatwork
swatwork
4 October 2018 at 5:00pm

Create a folder named "Deducktion_Data" in the same directory as the plugin - it will be used as the Home directory.

smithoid
smithoid
4 October 2018 at 5:40pm

Works great.... thank you!!.

I gave you the 5 stars by the way. I love this synth :-).

Colonel Flashback
Colonel Flashback
2 October 2018 at 10:29pm

Love it! But why is the duck dead? Makes me sad... : (.

Ivannn
Ivannn
4 October 2018 at 1:08pm

Thank you much for the synth!

I appreciate that you're improving one, keep it up.

I've got a couple requests if you let me:

Could you add the oscillators to the source of the modulation matrix?

I noticed improvement on the detune and the sub OSC (that's really good) but unfortunately they're not on the modulation matrix.

I'd be glad to have the pulse width on OSCs panels as well.

And the modulation matrix is lacking of a scale source.

Good luck you in DC18! (I gave you 5 stars you definitely deserve to win!).

BTW I like that you don't waste time on "presets"

THIS POST HAS BEEN REMOVED

theorize
theorize
20 October 2018 at 5:26pm

This is a really fun synth! Once I've spent more time with it I'll give it a proper review. The layout is perfect for skinning... it's been many years since I've done a skin or graphics at all, it's about time I did one (or maybe more). Any chance of adding sync at some point? That would be very nice.

theorize
theorize
20 October 2018 at 5:26pm

This is a really fun synth! Once I've spent more time with it I'll give it a proper review. The layout is perfect for skinning... it's been many years since I've done a skin or graphics at all, it's about time I did one (or maybe more). Any chance of adding sync at some point? That would be very nice.

theorize
theorize
20 October 2018 at 6:04pm

I also would like to see legato make it in as well :).

theorize
theorize
20 October 2018 at 6:04pm

And sync. Great synth.

THIS POST HAS BEEN REMOVED

THIS POST HAS BEEN REMOVED

overhishead
overhishead
24 October 2018 at 11:40am

Fantastic. This sounds great. Thank you for your work.

Feature Requests:
Noise/Random modulation source
Ability to modulate LFO/ENV parameters
Phase Modulation and/or sync between oscillators
.

theorize
theorize
29 October 2018 at 7:17am

+1,000,000 for modulate modulators, I can't see it being that hard to add most parameters as a mod destination and it would greatly increase the flexibility of the synth.

+100,000,000 for Sync/PM (I already asked for sync but ya PM too would be amazing).

I agree synth sounds great. I have been having lots of fun with it ever since I found it about a week ago. The fact that I keep checking it's KVR page is testament to that. This is quality software I wish I could donate to the dev, I'm fairly broke but heck I would be happy to throw some dollars his/her way whenever I could, or I'd be down to do a patreon. I want to see Dead Duck continue to make software. Hell, I was going to have to use synthedit or something to make a simple plugin to swap L/R channel till I tried the channel strip.

Pyrotek45
Pyrotek45
12 November 2018 at 1:52am

awesome synth! sounds great and is simple which i love. if i could add one thing it would be some sort of unison panning for the supersaw sound. thanks for a great work-horse synth.

Please log in to join the discussion

Dead Duck Deducktion

Average user rating of 5.00 from 3 reviews

Dead Duck Software
 My KVR - Version Control & Lists
Not In Your MY KVR Groups
(or group limitation prevents versioning)
19 people have added Dead Duck Deducktion to 3 My KVR groups 23 times

KVR Rank (Based on page views)

Overall: 13  13

30-Day: 34; 7-Day: 40; Yesterday: 53

Advertisements