Login / Register 0 items | $0.00 New@

User Reviews by KVR Members for FMHeaven

Rate & Review FMHeaven Now!

Reviewed By rasputin [read all by] on 28th January 2019
Version reviewed: 1.5 on Windows.
Last edited by rasputin on 28th January 2019.
Was it helpful to you? Yes No

This is a really venerable FM Synth, with a solid implementation of DX7 patch format. Consider that if you buy this, you can scour the net for literally 10s of thousands of patches, since this reads all .syx DX7 patches (I haven't found one it can't read yet).

I created a Python program to parse the patch name out of the file, and currently (although there are a lot of duplicates) my spreadsheet of patches is just over 104,000. I think that ought to be enough for anyone. If I live long enough, I'd like to rationalize the collection by type of patch, type of operator algorithm, etc. Maybe someone has already done that and I just haven't found it yet.

It seems to be a little unstable in Live 9.7 on Windows 7 Pro 64-bit; sometimes it hangs and sometimes checking the "HQ" box and playing notes hangs it. But what do you want for cheap? It might even be that version 1.4 is better than 1.5; I haven't investigated it yet.

Reviewed By ballacr75 [read all by] on 12th September 2017
Version reviewed: 1.5 on Windows
Was it helpful to you? Yes No

This is really a wonderful fm instruments, only miss more audio outputs! With 16 waveform for each oscillator, a 6x6 fm modulation matrix, two filters with hi and low pass mode, morph section for create morphing sound with a move of wheel or aftertouch, 16 channel multitrack, 4 audio out, 32x12 patch, import dx7 syx bank, 6x amplitude envelope with keytrack, 6x frequency envelope with keytrack, 2x filter envelope with keytrack, MIDI learn... a wonderful fm synth!!.

Reviewed By skinnyjap [read all by] on 29th August 2002
Version reviewed: 1.4 on unspecified OS
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Was it helpful to you? Yes No
I had an - unexplainable - lust for a Yamaha FS1R for ages... didn't make much sense (especially as I've gradually been moving across to a software only setup).

I just WANTED one.

Especially when I heard the fat, wide, metallic sounds you get from FM synthesis; much preferable - to my ears - to yet another subtractive synth. I held off, though - aware that it would be a waste of money, as I have not the time, patience or tiny fingers required to master such a beast. I continued to read up on FM synthesis, however... spending hours reading everything I could find on the topic.

Then, along came Pluggo 3 and it's 4 Op FM synth. At last I could have a fiddle about, and see how all the theory I had read applied to an instrument. I liked it. A lot - but it was tres limiting : no pitch envelopes, a limited repetoire of algorithms. I wanted more - but what ? The interface of FM7 left me cold (still does). So I tried FMHeaven.

Three words : "Mod. Wheel. Morph."

In conjunction with the programming matrix (which rocks, IMO - you tend to think about what you want the sound to do, rather than blindly flicking through algos), this is the business.

Sounds excellent, runs like a dream in Muzys and makes me grin from ear to ear. Like it.
Reviewed By Midiworks [read all by] on 22nd January 2002
Version reviewed: 1.3 on Windows
Was it helpful to you? Yes No
Very good DX7 emulation !
If you miss your old DX then get this one.

The gui is quit bad and ugly but the sound is good !

Its not an NI FM7 but it costs so much less its really
a bang for the buck.

Finaly you can get rid of those noisy DX7 outputs !
CPU load is quite high but still ok.

Go for it !

See ya

Reviewed By KOSMOLITH [read all by] on 16th November 2001
Version reviewed: 1.4.9 on Windows.
Last edited by on 25th April 2002.
Was it helpful to you? Yes No
The modulation matrix is quite good. The modulation info is right there in the matrix and it works well, not eye candy but a tool.

The sound is very good, it is not a problem creating sounds(or using the tens of thousands of patches from the internet) which will hold their place in the mix.

This is the low-price way to use all those classic DX patches and a practical way to get some modern FM madness going on. I prefer the sound of FMHeaven to the "competition" for classic FM work of the sparkling, metallic, sweet or nasty kind. True FM has a wonderful ability to create "phyical" sounds as the sidebands can be quite complex.

This is a very good and useful softsynth.
Reviewed By [read all by] on 30th October 2001
Version reviewed: 1.2 on unspecified OS
Was it helpful to you? Yes No
Very nice FM VSTi, but the GUI is poor and needs improvement. Preset switching could be better. Heavy load on the CPU.
Reviewed By midisax [read all by] on 10th September 2001
Version reviewed: 1 on Windows
1 of 2 people found this review helpful.
Was it helpful to you? Yes No
The first comprehensive FM vsti really, its STILL holding its own as only now are other companies coming out with good FM vsti's

Latest 7 reviews from a total of 7

Discussion

Discussion

Discussion: Active

Please log in to join the discussion

FMHeaven

Average user rating of 4.00 from 7 reviews

LoftSoft
 My KVR - Version Control & Lists
Not In Your MY KVR Groups
(or group limitation prevents versioning)
19 people have added FMHeaven to 5 My KVR groups 20 times
+2 in private groups

KVR Rank (Based on page views)

Overall: 1802  1316  1740

30-Day: 2063; 7-Day: 2315; Yesterday: 717

KVR Audio Plug-in Marketplace
Mixing and Automation - Cubase 10 104The Grid Explained and Explored - Bitwig Studio 302Mastering Essentials - Cubase 10 105Auto-Tune EFX+ Video Manual - Auto-Tune 101Audacity: The Video Manual - Audacity 101
Advertisements