Login / Register 00 items | $0.00 CHECKOUT New

User Reviews by KVR Members for Fury-800

Rate & Review Fury-800 Now!

Reviewed By BONES [read all by] on 3rd June 2020
Version reviewed: 1.0 on Windows
1 of 2 people found this review helpful.
Was it helpful to you? Yes No

I think this sounds too good to be a close emulation of a Poly800, which never sounded good at all. The problem with it is that they have slavishly copied the original's UI and it really doesn't work here. You can't see the value of anything until you hover your cursor over it and there is simply not enough contrast between the background and the markings to comfortably read any of the parameters. Overall, the GUI is way too large, too, even at it's minimum scaling.

Overall it's an interesting exercise in showing why slavish emulations of old hardware is a bad idea. Some of FBM's other synths are absolute crackers, like Mono/Fury, but this one is way wide of the mark, I'm afraid. Some years ago Synapse made another Poly800 clone and I think they did a better job than FBM have done here. If you can find a copy of that for sale somewhere, it's a better bet, I reckon.

POSITIVES.

- Sounds nice enough, better than I remember a Poly800 ever sounding.

- Can't argue with the price.

NEGATIVES.

- GUI too big at minimum size.

- Slavish copying of original UI hampers usability.

- FBM have much better synths than this one.

Click here to read all 7 reviews

Discussion

Discussion

Discussion: Active

THIS POST HAS BEEN REMOVED

THIS POST HAS BEEN REMOVED

PierreG
PierreG
3 June 2020 at 12:43am

I'm getting crashes in Tracktion Waveform 11 when opening the GUI.

Results from PluginVal testing: https://app.box.com/s/zmzg37gqj7cx01n1hr74hey2n46ckb8d

Full Bucket
Full Bucket
3 June 2020 at 6:40am

Is it working i a different host? Maybe the latest LICE-based version (see my website) works on your machine?

Cheers, Björn.

PierreG
PierreG
3 June 2020 at 7:50pm

LICE is nice. Works great, THANKS.

Sorry I missed the very clear suggestion to try this version if the other didn't work.

Full Bucket
Full Bucket
4 June 2020 at 9:51pm

No problem! Glad it works! :-).

Aquilia
Aquilia
7 June 2020 at 10:09am

Super excited to try this ad I owned an original. Reaper crashes every time I try and load the VST sadly (Win 7 P).

PierreG
PierreG
7 June 2020 at 5:30pm

Did the LICE version that Full Bucket pointed out not work for you in Reaper? It works for me in Reaper 6.11.

piozen
piozen
15 June 2020 at 10:40am

Until now all Full Bucket Music plugins have worked extremely efficiently and flawlessly. I'm using linux and the reaper DAW through WiNE. Fury800 is the first VST that doesn't work - the GPU accelerated version at all and LICE does not display the interface elements correctly (and VST window size too). When I saw that this plugin appeared on KVR with the option of changing the size, I was extremely happy. Meanwhile, it is the first VST that is not suitable for use in my environment. Nevertheless, thank you for the whole set of great vst's. The above only informs that something has changed in GUI development, which stopped the possibility of using this plugin in my OS.. I suspect that every new plugin will also have the same problem. All the best.

Please log in to join the discussion

Fury-800

Average user rating of 4.43 from 7 reviews

Full Bucket Music
 My KVR - Version Control & Lists
Not In Your MY KVR Groups
(or group limitation prevents versioning)
27 people have added Fury-800 to 4 My KVR groups 30 times
+1 in private groups

KVR Rank (Based on page views)

Overall: 60  47  60

30-Day: 36; 7-Day: 92; Yesterday: 120