Login / Register 0 items | $0.00 New @ KVR

User Reviews by KVR Members for GalactiX

Rate & Review GalactiX Now!

Reviewed By orbit [read all by] on 19th August 2009
Version reviewed: Current on Windows.
Last edited by orbit on 20th August 2009.
1 of 5 people found this review helpful.
Was it helpful to you? Yes No
I forgot all about this plug-in. I was talking to a friend all about strings/pads and what he used on a few tracks, and he brought this plug up. I remember using it quite awhile ago, so I decided to give it another shot. I fired up my scratch pad; Ableton 6, loaded it up, played one note, and my CPU went to 90%, and an awful feedback lit up the master meter bright red. I guess note off, isn't in this plug-in's vocabulary. I tried it out in Cubase 5, with a midi file, Cubase crashed. Checked it out in Acid 6 Pro, nothing but feedback, changed the patch, same deal, then a ntdll.dll error. Now I remember why I never used this thing.

Sound: Feedback
Features: Can crash a Quad Xeon in seconds.
Documentation: None.
Presets: They are there.
Customer Support: Not needed.
Value for money: It's free, I didn't expect much, I wouldn't pay a cent for this.
Stability: None

I love smartelectronix, they DO make good plug-in's. Maybe this was written DAW specific? If so, I'd love to know which one, I do want to hear those pads.
Reviewed By johnmorales [read all by] on 17th May 2005
Version reviewed: 1.a on Windows.
Last edited by johnmorales on 18th December 2005.
5 of 10 people found this review helpful.
Was it helpful to you? Yes No
If you are into any sort of electronica, trance Etc. Galactix is one of the best VST Synths going. It's taylor made for that type of music. It's a great layering synth, because it ads lots of harmonics (but you have to know what you are doing)

Galactix does what it does extremely well. It is also one of the easiest to tweak synths out there. Just a bit of fiddling with the controls and completely new and hot sounds can be created. People talk about its awesome pads, but I got some unique bass sounds, I haven't heard anywhere else.

I use this synth to inspire my writing more than any other.

If you are into hard rock, heavy metal, any type of guitar music, or harsh conflicted industrial music this synth is NOT for you, you will NOT get it. Just pass it by, and don't waste your or anyone's time saying how you don't get it. It's not meant for your type. LOL

Alex made the presets initially hard to find. To display the presets, RIGHT CLICK in the scrolling field where the pre-set name is displayed. When you do a selection list will pop up.

The only drawbacks are it's CPU usage, and it is becoming harder to wrap for DXi hosts like Cakewalk. A workaround for those who would like to use this synth with newer versions of Cakewalk would be to use OLDER versions of the VST wrappers. The newer ones bend and twist the VST completely.

All freeware comes with quirks. This one does to, but after you learn what they are (like notes don't obey the off command when triggered by stopping play of your sequencer) it's easy to work around them.

I sincerely wish Alex would come out with an updated version. I'd gladly pay for it. What ever happened to him and smartelectronix by the way?
Reviewed By warbug [read all by] on 21st February 2003
Version reviewed: 1.x on Windows
0 of 4 people found this review helpful.
Was it helpful to you? Yes No
i have been playing with this thing for a while and i had not really formed an opion on it. then i found the presets, which sounds bad but i dont feel that this is a synth designed for knob fiddlers. this synth can create wonderful strong pads, choir like. if this synth had more of an envelope section it would be one of my favorites. if your looking for pads and leads dont waste any more time and DL this synth.
Reviewed By drk_sum [read all by] on 6th August 2002
Version reviewed: 1.4 on Windows
Was it helpful to you? Yes No
Galactix is a treasure that I have been searching for since my inauguration into electronic music. I think that if you are looking for a lead synth, you have missed the point. Pads is where it's at. The chords that this thing spits out are so fat, especially with an automated cutoff sweep... Set 5 oscillators to Saw and one to 8 Sin, set the envelopes to Flat, and you have yourself the pads from the epic "Airwave" by Rank 1. It took me a week before I went to the website and found out that the Cutoff could be controlled by the Mod Wheel. Documentation would have been nice. As well, in Cubase VST3.7 (which I just so happen to be using), the song stop message does not turn off notes. This is a problem, and has resulted in a ridiculous number of crashes. Performance meter starts redlining, I hit stop, Galactix keeps going....the only way to turn off notes is with note off messages: either by playing the notes from the keyboard, or by letting the track play through the entire chord progression.
Reviewed By bajongo [read all by] on 28th April 2002
Version reviewed: 1.4a on Windows
Was it helpful to you? Yes No
Funny little synth! This thingy has some serious sounds that are instant eighties to me! I used it in one song yet and it works great in the mix in a wonderful way. It's not up in the face but it's very clearly audible. Very nice. No preset selector yet so it's not so cool to make sounds. But as fast as this synth improved over the last few weeks I'm sure that Alex will make it even better.

Thanx a lot, Alex!
Reviewed By Area51 [read all by] on 24th April 2002
Version reviewed: 1.4 on Windows
0 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Was it helpful to you? Yes No
I'll review this now the interface has been revamped.

Great for those spaced out pads. Just what I was looking for. Plenty of features and best of all its free.

Thats it really!
Reviewed By Emerald Tablet [read all by] on 8th April 2002
Version reviewed: ? on Windows
Was it helpful to you? Yes No
If you like good old depeche mode like dark sounds
This thing is a must have
I find the user interface ugly as hell ...but hey ...who needs a glossy look when the inside is fabulous

Good presets provided but it`s even more fun to make your own sounds with this thing.

If you like fine realistic acoustic sounds don`t use it
If you like fat synth sounds with a strange dark reverb and that old 80`s new-wave like sound .. USE IT
Reviewed By x_bruce [read all by] on 8th April 2002
Version reviewed: 1.x on Windows.
Last edited by x_bruce on 30th December 2002.
Was it helpful to you? Yes No
update 12.30.02

It struck me that there have been revisions to the interface and additional presets that give insight into the power of GalactiX and make no doubt about it there's plenty of power. Looking back having six oscillators was a taste of the future while using preset envelopes actually made programming more intuitive.

Also keep in mind this is freeware and makes some lovely sounds more in the lush 80's synth area. GalactiX deserves more attention as many of the ideas here found in simplified form have made their way to expensive shareware.

- - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - -

Although the user interface is somewhat different from traditional synthesizers after a few sessions it starts to make sense. I agree with other reviewers that it could use improvement. Another area of some concern are the preset filter envelopes. In one sense they simplify programming but it would be nice to have more control.

Currently there are few presets but they are quite good and help to teach how to program GalactiX. It is difficult to determine how far this synth can go because of some of it's design choices but some of the timbres I got out of it will make their way onto future recordings.

I like GalactiX a lot and hope it continues to develop. It is great for pads - in particular voice styles which are some of the osc. types found in GalactiX.

It's free and useful if you like spacey timbres. Don't let that stop you if you like meaty basses and good lead sounds, they're available as well but require learing the quirky interface.
Reviewed By Funkybot [read all by] on 8th April 2002
Version reviewed: 1 on Windows
Was it helpful to you? Yes No
Not a bad synth, but dissapointing nonetheless. I was reluctant to download it at first as I've already got plenty of VSTi's but some of the reviews here convinced me to try it out. Well this thing certainly sounds digital which is kind of nice, but I just could not get into this thing at all. The envolope presets rather than controls was a good idea by the developer, but that was about there wasn't too much else I liked about this, it's just not my thing. With some work this could really go somewhere but as of right now it's not going to be getting any use from me.
Reviewed By liqih [read all by] on 6th April 2002
Version reviewed: 1.4 on Windows.
Last edited by liqih on 25th April 2002.
Was it helpful to you? Yes No
updated for vs 1.4 :

it got a very interesting sound, I love the dense pads,
the concept is pretty new as VST synth and I like the way you can design the sounds, the GUI is much better now.
It seems that AMD CPU optimization is still needed.
anyway a quick way to make a different sound.
Reviewed By MB [read all by] on 5th April 2002
Version reviewed: 1.02 on Windows
0 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Was it helpful to you? Yes No
I really can't understand those raving on it. This instrument is very plain, the sound quality is low, user interface is readible only thanks to its simplicity, but I don't like numerical parameters, even if they are easily changed by mouse. The wave shapes are boring. The filter is very basic and goes nasty when overdriven. Only several preset envelopes are available. Besides, it lacks character and I really cannot find anything special in it. These sounds are easily replicable in every other free VSTi. OK, it's nice Alex is giving it for free, but I refuse to keep it and clutter my system. Yawn!
Reviewed By Hypertone [read all by] on 5th April 2002
Version reviewed: 1 on Windows
Was it helpful to you? Yes No
This is a good looking, good sounding VSTI. The presets are good, although theres not many. Its capable of some great tones, and has a cool digital sound (theres enough analog emulating VSTIs), Im happy to see something a little different.

It can do some brite FM/ PPG wave sort of sounds. I did manage to program some good analog sounds including some funky bass. The modulation capabilities are really simple, not even an lfo. The only complaint I have is that I heard some very faint crackling in the upper octaves. I dont think it would show up in a mix, but I would have definitely given the sound quality a 10 without the noise. I like the color and GUI. Thanks for this nice freebie!
Reviewed By nirsul [read all by] on 4th April 2002
Version reviewed: 1.0 on Windows
Was it helpful to you? Yes No
Such a great gift .
One thing though: when changing a preset - it delay a bit so it may be inapropriate to use with lots of program changes.
I like the choirs and the keyboard is nice !
Don't know if am wrong but it has a bit of a mellotronish sound, doesn't it?


Reviewed By Scot Solida [read all by] on 4th April 2002
Version reviewed: current on Windows
Was it helpful to you? Yes No
What a great week! First, Triangle II, now GalactiX! First, the sound. It's certainly bucks the trend, with a decidedly "digital" feel. The vocal oscillators are a nice touch, and will be perfect for spacey pads. There aren't too many knobs, but I like the "preset" approach to the envelopes. This reminds me of my old Ensoniqs or the Yamaha TG-33. You lose a little control, but they essentially force you to "get the job done" and get on with making music. The whole thing is pretty self-explanatory to program, too. It's elegant in its simplicity. They get bonus point for the science-fiction theme, 'cause I'm a fan of the genre! Rene's presets appeal for the same reason (plus they are good!). Yes, CPU usage is a bit on the high side, but it never crashed. The only gripe I have is about the reverb. It's a nice touch, but I'm not nuts about the sound of it. It'll work in small quantities, but, heck, we have access to so many reverbs already, it's a non-issue, and IT"S FREE! I have no clue about the customer support, but they provided me with a free addition to my sonic arsenal, so points all around! Thanks, guys for making a good week even better!
Reviewed By VitaminD [read all by] on 4th April 2002
Version reviewed: 1.4 on Windows.
Last edited by VitaminD on 24th April 2002.
Was it helpful to you? Yes No
I like this instrument a lot.

Really good sound.. very rich and full.. just hearing the sound, i would have thought it was hardware.. VERY warm.

its really easy to get a wonderful sound out of galactix..

i tend to use it for trance and ambient things..

comes with 11 different oscillator types, a cutoff and res filter, chorus knob, and a simple reverb (size and amount knobs)..

just AR - no DS in the envelope.. but it does come with different envelope types, which can vary the sound significantly.

i counted a max of 16 voices polphony

only big problem i can see is cpu usage (though im not really fond of the colors).. this thing can really hog the cpu.. especially with pads.

playing a simple 3 note chord with the magic strings preset (which btw sounds WONDERFUL) eats about 41% of my 650mhz cpu. ..melaren pad eats 60%..

however this synth is FREE, so i dont really consider it *that* big of an issue.

presets are wonderful, but only a handful to play with.. however the synth is easy to program..

If this synth gets another revision, i'd like to see the cpu utilization a bit better...

btw i gave tech support a 7.. just to be fair.. since i have never had to consult them... there should really be a n/a option on this form.

Latest 15 reviews from a total of 15

Discussion

Discussion

Discussion: Active
briandc
briandc
14 July 2012 at 10:44am

Hi everyone,

I've been trying lots of free VSTi's on my Linux KXStudio PC. Lots of neat things. In particular, GalactiX seems to work particularly well. My MIDI controller's controls interface smoothly with the GUI, and I also like how quickly sounds can be made. (Too bad there aren't any presets. I only got 4 .wav files in the download, but I don't know how to load them..)

brian

johnmorales
johnmorales
13 December 2012 at 8:56pm

Briandc in case you didn't discover this on your own already, there are presets.

To reveal them on windows you "right click" on the scrolling text on the right hand side of the vst.

I imagine it's probably the same action on Linux, but I don't know, because i don't have Linux.

The main point is there are presets, but it might take some clicking around on the VST Gui on Linux to find out how to open them op.

briandc
briandc
14 December 2012 at 9:04am

Hi John,

thanks for the tip! I'll look again, it's been a while since I've opened it because I've been working on another synth, but I'm curious to hear these presets you mentioned. And, since I wrote the last post (July) I've discovered that LMMS opens Windows-based VSTs very nicely, and I think that'll show me the list of sounds I couldn't get before.

Thanks again! :)

brian

briandc
briandc
31 May 2014 at 11:16am

Presets working fine. Very unique synth, both in synthesis structure and in the sounds that can be obtained. Nice! :)

brian.

GreenOaks
GreenOaks
23 January 2015 at 2:54am

Only creates a loud screeching sound in 32-bit ableton live 9.

THIS POST HAS BEEN REMOVED

Blacklight
Blacklight
12 September 2018 at 1:46am

It does not work at all in Sonar 8. It just crashes. It seems to work fine in Audiomulch and the Bandlab Sonar. It sounds decent. I just really wish I could get this thing to run in 32-bit Sonar 8 as it's really my DAW of choice (I hate the Bandlab version's interface). In Sonar 8, it detects the synth, but when I try to load it into a project, a window pops up saying that "Window Creation Failed" that's stuck in a loop, won't go away, so you have to go into task manager and close the whole DAW that way to get rid of it.

Please log in to join the discussion

GalactiX

Average user rating of 3.60 from 15 reviews

Smart Electronix
 My KVR - Version Control & Lists
Not In Your MY KVR Groups
(or group limitation prevents versioning)
37 people have added GalactiX to 6 My KVR groups 37 times
+3 in private groups

KVR Rank (Based on page views)

Overall: 1106  1083

30-Day: 787; 7-Day: 1084; Yesterday: 2760

KVR Audio Plug-in Marketplace
Advertisements