Login / Register 00 items | $0.00 CHECKOUT New

User Reviews by KVR Members for GalactiX

Rate & Review GalactiX Now!

Reviewed By drk_sum [read all by] on 6th August 2002
Version reviewed: 1.4 on Windows
Was it helpful to you? Yes No
Galactix is a treasure that I have been searching for since my inauguration into electronic music. I think that if you are looking for a lead synth, you have missed the point. Pads is where it's at. The chords that this thing spits out are so fat, especially with an automated cutoff sweep... Set 5 oscillators to Saw and one to 8 Sin, set the envelopes to Flat, and you have yourself the pads from the epic "Airwave" by Rank 1. It took me a week before I went to the website and found out that the Cutoff could be controlled by the Mod Wheel. Documentation would have been nice. As well, in Cubase VST3.7 (which I just so happen to be using), the song stop message does not turn off notes. This is a problem, and has resulted in a ridiculous number of crashes. Performance meter starts redlining, I hit stop, Galactix keeps going....the only way to turn off notes is with note off messages: either by playing the notes from the keyboard, or by letting the track play through the entire chord progression.

Click here to read all 15 reviews

Discussion

Discussion

Discussion: Active
briandc
briandc
14 July 2012 at 10:44am

Hi everyone,

I've been trying lots of free VSTi's on my Linux KXStudio PC. Lots of neat things. In particular, GalactiX seems to work particularly well. My MIDI controller's controls interface smoothly with the GUI, and I also like how quickly sounds can be made. (Too bad there aren't any presets. I only got 4 .wav files in the download, but I don't know how to load them..)

brian

johnmorales
johnmorales
13 December 2012 at 8:56pm

Briandc in case you didn't discover this on your own already, there are presets.

To reveal them on windows you "right click" on the scrolling text on the right hand side of the vst.

I imagine it's probably the same action on Linux, but I don't know, because i don't have Linux.

The main point is there are presets, but it might take some clicking around on the VST Gui on Linux to find out how to open them op.

briandc
briandc
14 December 2012 at 9:04am

Hi John,

thanks for the tip! I'll look again, it's been a while since I've opened it because I've been working on another synth, but I'm curious to hear these presets you mentioned. And, since I wrote the last post (July) I've discovered that LMMS opens Windows-based VSTs very nicely, and I think that'll show me the list of sounds I couldn't get before.

Thanks again! :)

brian

briandc
briandc
31 May 2014 at 11:16am

Presets working fine. Very unique synth, both in synthesis structure and in the sounds that can be obtained. Nice! :)

brian.

GreenOaks
GreenOaks
23 January 2015 at 2:54am

Only creates a loud screeching sound in 32-bit ableton live 9.

THIS POST HAS BEEN REMOVED

Blacklight
Blacklight
12 September 2018 at 1:46am

It does not work at all in Sonar 8. It just crashes. It seems to work fine in Audiomulch and the Bandlab Sonar. It sounds decent. I just really wish I could get this thing to run in 32-bit Sonar 8 as it's really my DAW of choice (I hate the Bandlab version's interface). In Sonar 8, it detects the synth, but when I try to load it into a project, a window pops up saying that "Window Creation Failed" that's stuck in a loop, won't go away, so you have to go into task manager and close the whole DAW that way to get rid of it.

SoundModeler
SoundModeler
23 May 2020 at 11:59am

After 18 years from GalactiX release I finally decided to update the GalactiX. The new version is almost ready. It is stable under the latest versions of the VST hosts. It includes x64 and has an enormous number of improvements (including MIDI handling, sound engine and etc) and it has new GUI and few new features. I have uploaded some of its sounds to freesound.org.

Please come by to soundmodeler.com soon.

Alex @ soundmodeler.com.

Please log in to join the discussion

GalactiX

Average user rating of 3.60 from 15 reviews

Smart Electronix
 My KVR - Version Control & Lists
Not In Your MY KVR Groups
(or group limitation prevents versioning)
40 people have added GalactiX to 5 My KVR groups 40 times
+2 in private groups

KVR Rank (Based on page views)

Overall: 1652  1611

30-Day: 1779; 7-Day: 1399; Yesterday: 3209