1. Plugins
  2. »
  3. Smart Electronix
  4. »
  5. GalactiX
  6. »
  7. Reviews

GalactiX

 My KVR
Synth Plugin by Smart Electronix

GalactiX has an average user rating of 3.60 from 15 reviews

Rate & Review GalactiX

User Reviews by KVR Members for GalactiX

Reviewed By johnmorales [read all by] on 17th May 2005
Version reviewed: 1.a on Windows.
Last edited by johnmorales on 18th December 2005.
5 of 10 people found this review helpful.
Was it helpful to you? Yes No
If you are into any sort of electronica, trance Etc. Galactix is one of the best VST Synths going. It's taylor made for that type of music. It's a great layering synth, because it ads lots of harmonics (but you have to know what you are doing)

Galactix does what it does extremely well. It is also one of the easiest to tweak synths out there. Just a bit of fiddling with the controls and completely new and hot sounds can be created. People talk about its awesome pads, but I got some unique bass sounds, I haven't heard anywhere else.

I use this synth to inspire my writing more than any other.

If you are into hard rock, heavy metal, any type of guitar music, or harsh conflicted industrial music this synth is NOT for you, you will NOT get it. Just pass it by, and don't waste your or anyone's time saying how you don't get it. It's not meant for your type. LOL

Alex made the presets initially hard to find. To display the presets, RIGHT CLICK in the scrolling field where the pre-set name is displayed. When you do a selection list will pop up.

The only drawbacks are it's CPU usage, and it is becoming harder to wrap for DXi hosts like Cakewalk. A workaround for those who would like to use this synth with newer versions of Cakewalk would be to use OLDER versions of the VST wrappers. The newer ones bend and twist the VST completely.

All freeware comes with quirks. This one does to, but after you learn what they are (like notes don't obey the off command when triggered by stopping play of your sequencer) it's easy to work around them.

I sincerely wish Alex would come out with an updated version. I'd gladly pay for it. What ever happened to him and smartelectronix by the way?

Click here to read all 15 reviews

Comments & Discussion for Smart Electronix GalactiX

Discussion
Discussion: Active
briandc
briandc
14 July 2012 at 10:44am

Hi everyone,

I've been trying lots of free VSTi's on my Linux KXStudio PC. Lots of neat things. In particular, GalactiX seems to work particularly well. My MIDI controller's controls interface smoothly with the GUI, and I also like how quickly sounds can be made. (Too bad there aren't any presets. I only got 4 .wav files in the download, but I don't know how to load them..)

brian

johnmorales
johnmorales
13 December 2012 at 8:56pm

Briandc in case you didn't discover this on your own already, there are presets.

To reveal them on windows you "right click" on the scrolling text on the right hand side of the vst.

I imagine it's probably the same action on Linux, but I don't know, because i don't have Linux.

The main point is there are presets, but it might take some clicking around on the VST Gui on Linux to find out how to open them op.

briandc
briandc
14 December 2012 at 9:04am

Hi John,

thanks for the tip! I'll look again, it's been a while since I've opened it because I've been working on another synth, but I'm curious to hear these presets you mentioned. And, since I wrote the last post (July) I've discovered that LMMS opens Windows-based VSTs very nicely, and I think that'll show me the list of sounds I couldn't get before.

Thanks again! :)

brian

briandc
briandc
31 May 2014 at 11:16am

Presets working fine. Very unique synth, both in synthesis structure and in the sounds that can be obtained. Nice! :)

brian.

GreenOaks
GreenOaks
23 January 2015 at 2:54am

Only creates a loud screeching sound in 32-bit ableton live 9.

THIS POST HAS BEEN REMOVED

Blacklight
Blacklight
12 September 2018 at 1:46am

It does not work at all in Sonar 8. It just crashes. It seems to work fine in Audiomulch and the Bandlab Sonar. It sounds decent. I just really wish I could get this thing to run in 32-bit Sonar 8 as it's really my DAW of choice (I hate the Bandlab version's interface). In Sonar 8, it detects the synth, but when I try to load it into a project, a window pops up saying that "Window Creation Failed" that's stuck in a loop, won't go away, so you have to go into task manager and close the whole DAW that way to get rid of it.

SoundModeler
SoundModeler
23 May 2020 at 11:59am

After 18 years from GalactiX release I finally decided to update the GalactiX. The new version is almost ready. It is stable under the latest versions of the VST hosts. It includes x64 and has an enormous number of improvements (including MIDI handling, sound engine and etc) and it has new GUI and few new features. I have uploaded some of its sounds to freesound.org.

Please come by to soundmodeler.com soon.

Alex @ soundmodeler.com.

THIS POST HAS BEEN REMOVED

THIS POST HAS BEEN REMOVED

SoundModeler
SoundModeler
7 June 2020 at 2:08pm

The new version of GalactiX has released today https://www.kvraudio.com/product/galactix-by-soundmodeler.

Sorry if it took long...

Please log in to join the discussion