1. Plugins
  2. »
  3. Smart Electronix
  4. »
  5. GalactiX
  6. »
  7. Reviews

GalactiX

 My KVR
Synth Plugin by Smart Electronix

GalactiX has an average user rating of 3.60 from 15 reviews

Rate & Review GalactiX

User Reviews by KVR Members for GalactiX

Reviewed By VitaminD [read all by] on 4th April 2002
Version reviewed: 1.4 on Windows.
Last edited by VitaminD on 24th April 2002.
Was it helpful to you? Yes No
I like this instrument a lot.

Really good sound.. very rich and full.. just hearing the sound, i would have thought it was hardware.. VERY warm.

its really easy to get a wonderful sound out of galactix..

i tend to use it for trance and ambient things..

comes with 11 different oscillator types, a cutoff and res filter, chorus knob, and a simple reverb (size and amount knobs)..

just AR - no DS in the envelope.. but it does come with different envelope types, which can vary the sound significantly.

i counted a max of 16 voices polphony

only big problem i can see is cpu usage (though im not really fond of the colors).. this thing can really hog the cpu.. especially with pads.

playing a simple 3 note chord with the magic strings preset (which btw sounds WONDERFUL) eats about 41% of my 650mhz cpu. ..melaren pad eats 60%..

however this synth is FREE, so i dont really consider it *that* big of an issue.

presets are wonderful, but only a handful to play with.. however the synth is easy to program..

If this synth gets another revision, i'd like to see the cpu utilization a bit better...

btw i gave tech support a 7.. just to be fair.. since i have never had to consult them... there should really be a n/a option on this form.

Click here to read all 15 reviews

Comments & Discussion for Smart Electronix GalactiX

Discussion
Discussion: Active
briandc
briandc
14 July 2012 at 10:44am

Hi everyone,

I've been trying lots of free VSTi's on my Linux KXStudio PC. Lots of neat things. In particular, GalactiX seems to work particularly well. My MIDI controller's controls interface smoothly with the GUI, and I also like how quickly sounds can be made. (Too bad there aren't any presets. I only got 4 .wav files in the download, but I don't know how to load them..)

brian

johnmorales
johnmorales
13 December 2012 at 8:56pm

Briandc in case you didn't discover this on your own already, there are presets.

To reveal them on windows you "right click" on the scrolling text on the right hand side of the vst.

I imagine it's probably the same action on Linux, but I don't know, because i don't have Linux.

The main point is there are presets, but it might take some clicking around on the VST Gui on Linux to find out how to open them op.

briandc
briandc
14 December 2012 at 9:04am

Hi John,

thanks for the tip! I'll look again, it's been a while since I've opened it because I've been working on another synth, but I'm curious to hear these presets you mentioned. And, since I wrote the last post (July) I've discovered that LMMS opens Windows-based VSTs very nicely, and I think that'll show me the list of sounds I couldn't get before.

Thanks again! :)

brian

briandc
briandc
31 May 2014 at 11:16am

Presets working fine. Very unique synth, both in synthesis structure and in the sounds that can be obtained. Nice! :)

brian.

GreenOaks
GreenOaks
23 January 2015 at 2:54am

Only creates a loud screeching sound in 32-bit ableton live 9.

THIS POST HAS BEEN REMOVED

Blacklight
Blacklight
12 September 2018 at 1:46am

It does not work at all in Sonar 8. It just crashes. It seems to work fine in Audiomulch and the Bandlab Sonar. It sounds decent. I just really wish I could get this thing to run in 32-bit Sonar 8 as it's really my DAW of choice (I hate the Bandlab version's interface). In Sonar 8, it detects the synth, but when I try to load it into a project, a window pops up saying that "Window Creation Failed" that's stuck in a loop, won't go away, so you have to go into task manager and close the whole DAW that way to get rid of it.

SoundModeler
SoundModeler
23 May 2020 at 11:59am

After 18 years from GalactiX release I finally decided to update the GalactiX. The new version is almost ready. It is stable under the latest versions of the VST hosts. It includes x64 and has an enormous number of improvements (including MIDI handling, sound engine and etc) and it has new GUI and few new features. I have uploaded some of its sounds to freesound.org.

Please come by to soundmodeler.com soon.

Alex @ soundmodeler.com.

THIS POST HAS BEEN REMOVED

THIS POST HAS BEEN REMOVED

SoundModeler
SoundModeler
7 June 2020 at 2:08pm

The new version of GalactiX has released today https://www.kvraudio.com/product/galactix-by-soundmodeler.

Sorry if it took long...

Please log in to join the discussion