1. Plugins
  2. »
  3. Smart Electronix
  4. »
  5. GalactiX
  6. »
  7. Reviews

GalactiX

 My KVR
Synth Plugin by Smart Electronix

GalactiX has an average user rating of 3.60 from 15 reviews

Rate & Review GalactiX

User Reviews by KVR Members for GalactiX

Reviewed By Scot Solida [read all by] on 4th April 2002
Version reviewed: current on Windows
Was it helpful to you? Yes No
What a great week! First, Triangle II, now GalactiX! First, the sound. It's certainly bucks the trend, with a decidedly "digital" feel. The vocal oscillators are a nice touch, and will be perfect for spacey pads. There aren't too many knobs, but I like the "preset" approach to the envelopes. This reminds me of my old Ensoniqs or the Yamaha TG-33. You lose a little control, but they essentially force you to "get the job done" and get on with making music. The whole thing is pretty self-explanatory to program, too. It's elegant in its simplicity. They get bonus point for the science-fiction theme, 'cause I'm a fan of the genre! Rene's presets appeal for the same reason (plus they are good!). Yes, CPU usage is a bit on the high side, but it never crashed. The only gripe I have is about the reverb. It's a nice touch, but I'm not nuts about the sound of it. It'll work in small quantities, but, heck, we have access to so many reverbs already, it's a non-issue, and IT"S FREE! I have no clue about the customer support, but they provided me with a free addition to my sonic arsenal, so points all around! Thanks, guys for making a good week even better!

Click here to read all 15 reviews

Comments & Discussion for Smart Electronix GalactiX

Discussion
Discussion: Active
briandc
briandc
14 July 2012 at 10:44am

Hi everyone,

I've been trying lots of free VSTi's on my Linux KXStudio PC. Lots of neat things. In particular, GalactiX seems to work particularly well. My MIDI controller's controls interface smoothly with the GUI, and I also like how quickly sounds can be made. (Too bad there aren't any presets. I only got 4 .wav files in the download, but I don't know how to load them..)

brian

johnmorales
johnmorales
13 December 2012 at 8:56pm

Briandc in case you didn't discover this on your own already, there are presets.

To reveal them on windows you "right click" on the scrolling text on the right hand side of the vst.

I imagine it's probably the same action on Linux, but I don't know, because i don't have Linux.

The main point is there are presets, but it might take some clicking around on the VST Gui on Linux to find out how to open them op.

briandc
briandc
14 December 2012 at 9:04am

Hi John,

thanks for the tip! I'll look again, it's been a while since I've opened it because I've been working on another synth, but I'm curious to hear these presets you mentioned. And, since I wrote the last post (July) I've discovered that LMMS opens Windows-based VSTs very nicely, and I think that'll show me the list of sounds I couldn't get before.

Thanks again! :)

brian

briandc
briandc
31 May 2014 at 11:16am

Presets working fine. Very unique synth, both in synthesis structure and in the sounds that can be obtained. Nice! :)

brian.

GreenOaks
GreenOaks
23 January 2015 at 2:54am

Only creates a loud screeching sound in 32-bit ableton live 9.

THIS POST HAS BEEN REMOVED

Blacklight
Blacklight
12 September 2018 at 1:46am

It does not work at all in Sonar 8. It just crashes. It seems to work fine in Audiomulch and the Bandlab Sonar. It sounds decent. I just really wish I could get this thing to run in 32-bit Sonar 8 as it's really my DAW of choice (I hate the Bandlab version's interface). In Sonar 8, it detects the synth, but when I try to load it into a project, a window pops up saying that "Window Creation Failed" that's stuck in a loop, won't go away, so you have to go into task manager and close the whole DAW that way to get rid of it.

SoundModeler
SoundModeler
23 May 2020 at 11:59am

After 18 years from GalactiX release I finally decided to update the GalactiX. The new version is almost ready. It is stable under the latest versions of the VST hosts. It includes x64 and has an enormous number of improvements (including MIDI handling, sound engine and etc) and it has new GUI and few new features. I have uploaded some of its sounds to freesound.org.

Please come by to soundmodeler.com soon.

Alex @ soundmodeler.com.

THIS POST HAS BEEN REMOVED

THIS POST HAS BEEN REMOVED

SoundModeler
SoundModeler
7 June 2020 at 2:08pm

The new version of GalactiX has released today https://www.kvraudio.com/product/galactix-by-soundmodeler.

Sorry if it took long...

Please log in to join the discussion