Login / Register 00 items | $0.00 CHECKOUT New

User Reviews by KVR Members for GalactiX

Rate & Review GalactiX Now!

Reviewed By x_bruce [read all by] on 8th April 2002
Version reviewed: 1.x on Windows.
Last edited by x_bruce on 30th December 2002.
Was it helpful to you? Yes No
update 12.30.02

It struck me that there have been revisions to the interface and additional presets that give insight into the power of GalactiX and make no doubt about it there's plenty of power. Looking back having six oscillators was a taste of the future while using preset envelopes actually made programming more intuitive.

Also keep in mind this is freeware and makes some lovely sounds more in the lush 80's synth area. GalactiX deserves more attention as many of the ideas here found in simplified form have made their way to expensive shareware.

- - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - -

Although the user interface is somewhat different from traditional synthesizers after a few sessions it starts to make sense. I agree with other reviewers that it could use improvement. Another area of some concern are the preset filter envelopes. In one sense they simplify programming but it would be nice to have more control.

Currently there are few presets but they are quite good and help to teach how to program GalactiX. It is difficult to determine how far this synth can go because of some of it's design choices but some of the timbres I got out of it will make their way onto future recordings.

I like GalactiX a lot and hope it continues to develop. It is great for pads - in particular voice styles which are some of the osc. types found in GalactiX.

It's free and useful if you like spacey timbres. Don't let that stop you if you like meaty basses and good lead sounds, they're available as well but require learing the quirky interface.

Click here to read all 15 reviews

Discussion

Discussion

Discussion: Active
briandc
briandc
14 July 2012 at 10:44am

Hi everyone,

I've been trying lots of free VSTi's on my Linux KXStudio PC. Lots of neat things. In particular, GalactiX seems to work particularly well. My MIDI controller's controls interface smoothly with the GUI, and I also like how quickly sounds can be made. (Too bad there aren't any presets. I only got 4 .wav files in the download, but I don't know how to load them..)

brian

johnmorales
johnmorales
13 December 2012 at 8:56pm

Briandc in case you didn't discover this on your own already, there are presets.

To reveal them on windows you "right click" on the scrolling text on the right hand side of the vst.

I imagine it's probably the same action on Linux, but I don't know, because i don't have Linux.

The main point is there are presets, but it might take some clicking around on the VST Gui on Linux to find out how to open them op.

briandc
briandc
14 December 2012 at 9:04am

Hi John,

thanks for the tip! I'll look again, it's been a while since I've opened it because I've been working on another synth, but I'm curious to hear these presets you mentioned. And, since I wrote the last post (July) I've discovered that LMMS opens Windows-based VSTs very nicely, and I think that'll show me the list of sounds I couldn't get before.

Thanks again! :)

brian

briandc
briandc
31 May 2014 at 11:16am

Presets working fine. Very unique synth, both in synthesis structure and in the sounds that can be obtained. Nice! :)

brian.

GreenOaks
GreenOaks
23 January 2015 at 2:54am

Only creates a loud screeching sound in 32-bit ableton live 9.

THIS POST HAS BEEN REMOVED

Blacklight
Blacklight
12 September 2018 at 1:46am

It does not work at all in Sonar 8. It just crashes. It seems to work fine in Audiomulch and the Bandlab Sonar. It sounds decent. I just really wish I could get this thing to run in 32-bit Sonar 8 as it's really my DAW of choice (I hate the Bandlab version's interface). In Sonar 8, it detects the synth, but when I try to load it into a project, a window pops up saying that "Window Creation Failed" that's stuck in a loop, won't go away, so you have to go into task manager and close the whole DAW that way to get rid of it.

SoundModeler
SoundModeler
23 May 2020 at 11:59am

After 18 years from GalactiX release I finally decided to update the GalactiX. The new version is almost ready. It is stable under the latest versions of the VST hosts. It includes x64 and has an enormous number of improvements (including MIDI handling, sound engine and etc) and it has new GUI and few new features. I have uploaded some of its sounds to freesound.org.

Please come by to soundmodeler.com soon.

Alex @ soundmodeler.com.

Please log in to join the discussion

GalactiX

Average user rating of 3.60 from 15 reviews

Smart Electronix
 My KVR - Version Control & Lists
Not In Your MY KVR Groups
(or group limitation prevents versioning)
40 people have added GalactiX to 5 My KVR groups 40 times
+2 in private groups

KVR Rank (Based on page views)

Overall: 1552  1513

30-Day: 1948; 7-Day: 1431; Yesterday: 1198