Login / Register 0 items | $0.00 New @ KVR

User Reviews by KVR Members for GranuLab.VST

Rate & Review GranuLab.VST Now!

Reviewed By seeess [read all by] on 18th September 2018
Version reviewed: 18-09-17 on Windows
0 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Was it helpful to you? Yes No

I started using the standalone version of GranuLab around 2010/11, and it hasn't left my taskbar since. I've tried lots of granular software over the years but nothing has managed to knock it from the top spot. I use granular synths for microsound / sfx type transformations (a la Curtis Roads) rather than making nice pads, which is what a lot of granular software seems to be aimed at recently. The ability to transform between preset states as well as set slower / faster parameter change times is the clincher for me. Fantastic for live use, I just record long takes and edit out the best bits.

Particularly chuffed that I can now simply drag and drop files from my host sequencers browser, which speeds up the workflow immensely. Fantastic to see that a vital bit of software is now being updated again.

Reviewed By Jonathan10 [read all by] on 13th September 2018
Version reviewed: 1 on Windows
0 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Was it helpful to you? Yes No

This is the best granular effect i have tried with the exception of permut 6. This thing is great. Please finish and I will buy.

Reviewed By Deelanee [read all by] on 10th September 2018
Version reviewed: 18-09-07 on Windows.
Last edited by Deelanee on 10th September 2018.
1 of 2 people found this review helpful.
Was it helpful to you? Yes No

Very creative and appealing plugin right of the bat. It has tremendous potential but is a bit confusing and unpredictable in its current form. Being able to trigger the clips with MIDI would be a must to make it my go-to granular synthesis engine.

Visually, this is a winner for me: I particularly like how the effects curves are displayed and tweakable! I had never seen this before.

I'm giving you 5 stars so you can win and finish the plugin because it's a keeper.

Reviewed By lawramono [read all by] on 9th September 2018
Version reviewed: 1 on Windows.
Last edited by lawramono on 9th September 2018.
2 of 2 people found this review helpful.
Was it helpful to you? Yes No

this would easily be a better VST if it was an instrument.

instead of effect its got alot of potential.

Reviewed By viceverser [read all by] on 7th September 2018
Version reviewed: 09-03 on Windows
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Was it helpful to you? Yes No

I love this concept, and the layout ideas are brilliant, it's a neat tool to do wild experiments for sound design... But either I'm missing something big, or this is completely unplayable as an instrument?

Latest 5 reviews from a total of 5

Discussion

Discussion

Discussion: Active

THIS POST HAS BEEN REMOVED

Deelanee
Deelanee
10 September 2018 at 1:16pm

Wow! Loving this so far. I love the GUI and how responsive it is. The functions are sometimes a bit obscure, but it is conducive to experimentation. I concur with the other reviewers: making it into an instrument would be fantastic as right now it plays and stops in unpredictable ways. I particularly love how this effects windows displays the curves... I had never seen this before. Where can I find you on social media so I can give shout outs?

ostinato-plugins
ostinato-plugins
20 September 2018 at 8:02pm

Hi all, thanks a lot for reviews & comments.

Sorry for not replying sooner, didn't know until last few days that there was yet another place to interact.

I've been busy trying to get Granny into a state of "basic sanity" or something like it.
Fixing crash bugs, getting it to run on MacOS versions, and now saving params/patches in host projects like all other VST's do gets me much nearer that sunny place.

There are still several crazy-town things going on. Lack of start/stop button, host interaction and several behavior options spring to mind.

But now is also the time for some fun stuff, rounding up and designing the remaining features.

Any requests, suggestions or comments (especially complaints about all the shit that doesn't work like any musician with half a scoop of mango sherbet for brains would want) are very welcome, and will be disputed, reconsidered and integrated with pleasure.

So much for official statements.
- Regarding "playable as instrument" I''ve talked to one user, hopefully it was partly fixed when I got MIDI monosynth in place, but you tell!
- I'm not on social media much, or at all really, the webpage and KVR and email (in docs and on the webpage) are best chances of talking.

Please log in to join the discussion

GranuLab.VST

Average user rating of 4.20 from 5 reviews

Ostinato
 My KVR - Version Control & Lists
Not In Your MY KVR Groups
(or group limitation prevents versioning)
11 people have added GranuLab.VST to 3 My KVR groups 11 times

KVR Rank (Based on page views)

Overall: 33  28  33

30-Day: 93; 7-Day: 94; Yesterday: 120

KVR Marketplace
Advertisements