Login / Register 0 items | $0.00 New @ KVR

User Reviews by KVR Members for Helm

Rate & Review Helm Now!

Reviewed By cbmtrx [read all by] on 24th January 2018
Version reviewed: 0.9 on Mac
0 of 2 people found this review helpful.
Was it helpful to you? Yes No

Amazing sound from a truly well thought-out instrument. A lot of character in its architecture and the modulation controls are very intuitive.

More instruments should be like this one.

Latest 1 review from a total of 1

Discussion

Discussion

Discussion: Active
MutantHero
MutantHero
25 April 2016 at 9:56pm

This is a great quality synth hard to believe it's free.

bmertelj
bmertelj
5 June 2016 at 11:23am

Really good GUI, similar to best commercial ones, demonstrates how GUI can help with workflow and usability. Also, the automation concept is powerful, allowing so many parameters to be automated creatively.

This could develop further to something very powerful and leading ... The idea that comes to mind is ... how to combine Synth1's powerful engine and myriad of presets with this open-souce (means anybody/everybody could take it from here) and great UI and make it one.

Could we convince Mr. Ichiro Toda to join forces or ... could somebody develop a patch/preset conversion tool to convert Synth1 presets to at least similar .helm patches. I used to be a programmer and I believe this could be done. Then, it would be the leading free VST.

bmertelj
bmertelj
5 June 2016 at 11:32am

There is this package of Synth presets in VST3 format which seems quite readable. That could be used to convert them to .helm. I know this wouldn't work directly, but with some testing /and having this converter OS or configurable) we might get it to some level of usefullness :)

Anybody up to the challenge?

THIS POST HAS BEEN REMOVED

bmertelj
bmertelj
5 June 2016 at 11:48am

Actually, I found that now I can try this and experiment ... VST3 is known and of course .helm is also fully readable. Will keep you posted.

knossos
knossos
26 September 2016 at 5:31pm

Ver. 0.8.6 (this page should really be updated) x32 under win7 / dotnet 4.6.2 / Vc runtime 2015 + 2013 gives always an Error "Der Prozedureinsprungpunkt "ucrtbase.terminate" wurde in der DLL "api-ms-win-crt-runtime-l1-1-0.dll" nicht gefunden." and then the host says it's not a valid .vst plugin. Same with the digits vst. But the Helm.exe works.

knossos
knossos
14 October 2016 at 10:45am

What helped NOW, after I read another post (for digits) and installed the 2015 again to no success, was the ADDITIONAL installation of "Microsoft Visual C++ 2015 Redistributable Update 3 RC".I only noticed the existence of this pack because it was second in the google search.
Now Helm works, and I am happy.

Thanks to the Admin for updating the page, by the way.

clocolan
clocolan
7 December 2016 at 8:08pm

An incredibly fresh synth that I used to great effect in my new album. It is so deep with creative potential I barely scratched the surface.

Two tracks that it's most noticeable on are:
03 Cannon Rock, '72
06 Ciskei

Album preview here:
https://soundcloud.com/clocolan/nothing-left-to-abandon

Keep it going Matt...you're on to something with this instrument.

joeysan
joeysan
13 February 2018 at 5:37pm

For some reason i cant import banks onto Helm on Mac Ableton, any ideas why? Thanks.

bay2boy
bay2boy
18 August 2018 at 9:08am

Same problem here on Mac Reason. Let me know if you figured it out.

lovasss
lovasss
4 March 2018 at 5:19pm

A pretty, cool synth !!.

:-)

musiconacento
musiconacento
23 June 2018 at 12:52am

Presets can't be loaded? The internal Synth browser have a function called "Banks" for find., When I navigte to a folder where are the downloads -ready uncompressed- dont detect nothing..

I think it's a configuration problem that have not their presets/banks all ready located - I have satisfactory used in other computer without need to find - but it's strange can not make it manually...

Otherwise its a great Synth. Equitable to many of other similar so expensive. CHAPEAU.

bay2boy
bay2boy
18 August 2018 at 9:25am

If you are having problems loading patches, the VST will look for presets in the following folder, per their website.

Where does Helm store files?

GNU/Linux:

Standalone - /usr/bin/helm.

LV2 - /usr/lib/lv2/helm.lv2.

VST - /usr/lib/lxvst/helm.so (if installed).

Local Presets - ~/.helm/patches.

Factory Files - /usr/share/helm/.

Config File - ~/.helm/Helm.config.

Mac OS X:

Standalone - /Applications/Helm.app.

VST - /Library/Audio/Plug-Ins/VST/helm.vst.

VST3 - /Library/Audio/Plug-Ins/VST3/helm.vst3.

AU - /Library/Audio/Plug-Ins/Components/helm.component.

Local Presets - ~/Library/Audio/Presets/Helm.

Factory Presets - /Library/Audio/Presets/Helm.

Config File - ~/Library/Application Support/helm.

Windows:

Standalone - C:\Program Files\Helm\helm.exe (default).

VST - C:\Program Files\Steinberg\VstPlugins (default).

VST3 - C:\Program Files\Common Files\VST3\Helm\helm.vst3.

Local Presets - C:\Users\<username>\Documents\Helm\Patches.

Factory Presets - C:\Users\Public\Documents\Helm\Patches.

Config File - C:\Documents and Settings\<username>\Application Data\helm\Helm.config.

So you have to transfer the downloaded presets into this folder then you will see them when you browse on the VST.

pinup57
pinup57
28 October 2018 at 5:38pm

Hi there, this is a great synth, really. But I'm having an issue with the arpregiator, it's out of sync (VST) but the tempo is locked correctly to the host tempo, and it slows up and down when the master clock does so. Only, not the correct tempo. Did anyone else notice this?

pinup57
pinup57
30 October 2018 at 1:52pm

Anothe questio/issue: how can I use program changes over midi? (VST version in a host). I can only change the first 15 or so by midi, I have no idea how to access the other ones. The file structure introduces a non-existent (in the MIDI specs) level we have banks-then folders-then presets. When I manage to change presets it does actually call the first 10 in the first folder of the first bank, the a couple more in the second folder and that's all. I can't change banks by MIDI either. Any thoughts? Apert from that, I reeally like this synth. It's powerful.

Please log in to join the discussion

Helm

Average user rating of 4.00 from 1 review

Matt Tytel
 My KVR - Version Control & Lists
Not In Your MY KVR Groups
(or group limitation prevents versioning)
139 people have added Helm to 14 My KVR groups 167 times
+10 in private groups

KVR Rank (Based on page views)

Overall: 80  65  80  5

30-Day: 87; 7-Day: 99; Yesterday: 176

KVR Audio Plug-in MarketplaceDark Era
Advertisements