Login / Register 0 items | $0.00 New @ KVR

User Reviews by KVR Members for Lord of the Springs

Rate & Review Lord of the Springs Now!

Reviewed By BlackWinny [read all by] on 1st January 2017
Version reviewed: 1.0.2 on Windows
2 of 2 people found this review helpful.
Was it helpful to you? Yes No

Oh My God ! At last a true original synth ! A fabulous instrument to imagine a totally new genre of music.

The last demo "Lordofthesprings Demo02", much more of a Theremine, makes me think of the Vietnamese Dan Bau as you can hear it played by the famous virtuoso Pham Duc Thanh here: https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=x1LkoG449Yc

or here in a rock style: https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=xAhUMkpY9_8

But the possibilities of Lord of the Springs go way beyond and let a huge freedom to create a totally new genre of music. Being a Franco-Chinese musician always looking for new paths mixing Asian music and occidental "new age" music with totally original modern sounds inspired by ethnic traditions (bowed strings, plucked strings, winds, bowls, mallets...) throughout the world, this new synth is now definitively one of y favorites. The only other one which is really excellent for that kind of totally new sounds inspired by acoustic instruments being for the moment Modelonia from NuSofting.

Lord of the Springs... Wonderful ! Definitively one of my favorites.

The GUI could be corrected to stay more "tranquil" and not disturbing the mind, but musically I give this instrument a rate of 10/10.

Latest 1 review from a total of 1

Discussion

Discussion

Discussion: Active
Vospi
Vospi
2 December 2016 at 11:12pm

Wow, these demos sound amazing.

Taron
Taron
7 December 2016 at 12:53am

Uh, comments, didn't even notice?

THANKS, Vospi! I've just added another little test, trying to do an OSC style track by making drums and all. I was worried about snare and hihat, but they worked out just fine, though I needed a highpass for the hihats.

Again, thanks! 8)

Vospi
Vospi
7 December 2016 at 12:57am

I still never got to test it, but I know this is my number one pick for now. I'm a sucker for "real/not real" type of sounds, like you can find in romplers or in physical modelling, and my music suggests it, so no surprise here :)

Taron
Taron
7 December 2016 at 1:16am

Awww, Cheers, mate, that's awesome! 8D.

I always, always, always loved the idea of physical modeling and did a number of little experiments over the years, but just recently started looking at VST development. Now that I'm gaining a handle on it, I will surely continue to explore possibilities. There's some real magic in this and I just can't let go! 8)

I love synths, for sure, but they so often tread in circles for some reason. I'd like to break free from that. We shall see! 8}.

Oh, and I really hope you'll enjoy testing around with it AND I can't wait to hear what you'll do with it, when you're ready to share some. 8D.

Vospi
Vospi
17 December 2016 at 11:35am

Ok, just to follow-up: I've tried, I'm really sure this scores 5 for me. ;)

To balance the review: It's a bit frustrating that I can't figure out all the possibilities just by tweaking the knobs (I'm pretty well with synths usually), probably because I'm looking for some kind of "groups" and can't figure them out (for example, knobs to sculpt tone length, knobs to sculpt harmonic content over time — the most crucial things); it's obvious that they're grouped by springs, but I think that "signal" routing is not obvious at all. Maybe elaborate on that a little bit for us geeks? Also, some stats in the left windows seem unreachable with knobs, at least at a first glance; I've tried to tweak them with the mouse but to no effect of course. Also, DefaultBank.fxb won't load in FL Studio 11 without me pointing at it; that's really unusual, plugins pretty much get to load their default banks all the time :)

Demo: I never do such stuff, but this time I felt like it; Lord of the Springs was used for "prog chords" and a bit of melodic riffs; threw some dressing on top of it. Not really a usual demo for a plugin, because there's a lot added and the timbre itself is processed (compressed and reverbed, at least), but still.

https://yadi.sk/d/n8nAgW3I33pDbk

I have a favourite japanese artist, goes by name Nekomata Master — he uses this kind of sound (mallet-like with inherent 5th) all the time :) With Lord of the Springs, I was able to do such patch in seconds.

Taron
Taron
17 December 2016 at 12:43pm

Hey Vospi, I somehow don't get the option to reply to your larger post down there. I hope, this works...

THANK YOU, first of all! 8D.

The GUI is really in a temporary state and I vow to rework it when this is over. Currently, though, except for two extra parameter, you can access all others. Initially I wanted to actually make an illustration-based interface, which would make "the physics of it" a lot more clear, hehe. One main spring, which has a x- and y component, stimulating a second spring with the same set (x, y). You could then visually control their interaction, decay or dampening and diffusion.

I will also most certainly implement a proper preset management. Short on time a lot of things went out unpolished, but the core technology and experience got to have their introduction, I think. I'm super excited about where it will evolve to, for sure.

Thanks again for the feedback and I hope you will keep it coming as LotS keeps growing.

THIS POST HAS BEEN REMOVED

layzer
layzer
3 December 2016 at 6:28pm

cool, i like it but the max output volume is very weak compared to the average plugin.

also, the color cycling is kind of annoying. it would be better user selected and it stay that way.

Taron
Taron
7 December 2016 at 12:56am

Hey Layzer, danged, I'm sorry the colors annoy you. It was just a temporary thing, but I liked it, plus I learned to enjoy color coding instrument groups and thought it could work for that perfectly, too.

As for the volume, yeah, I was really worried, because line up the frequencies and you can get massive spikes. I need to write a little limiter, I'm afraid, but it was too late for the DC16. Will add it later, though. Good call.

I might make the color solution optional, though, I enjoy it.

hate9
hate9
9 December 2016 at 3:42pm

I can't wait for a complete version of this, with the limiter and whatever else you have planned. This is a great (and unique) synth, and I already love using it.

Taron
Taron
9 December 2016 at 6:09pm

Such a brilliant message, h, thanks a lot! I'm brewing on a number of additions that should rather dramatically increase the spectrum it can cover. I'm definitely excited.

Again, thank you very much.

hate9
hate9
9 December 2016 at 9:49pm

You're welcome, and I can't wait.

Architeuthis
Architeuthis
5 December 2016 at 10:08pm

very organic, can really sound like a steel drum with some settings.

Taron
Taron
7 December 2016 at 12:59am

Thanks, Arch, it's totally made for those, hehe! Well, it's kind of amazing, the amount of sounds you can squeeze out of LotS. After my little fix, the diffusion of Spring 2 boosted itself dramatically, also increasing the spectrum of sounds massively. But when DC is over, I will go at more experiments to see how far I can stretch some springs! 8)))

Cheers.

Architeuthis
Architeuthis
7 December 2016 at 4:47am

Please also label your knobs.

THIS POST HAS BEEN REMOVED

Taron
Taron
7 December 2016 at 8:51am

Absolutely. It needs proper arrangement, it will also get fine tuning and mouse wheel support. I just ran out of time, but it also made the GUI really rather organic, hehe. I hope, I will manage to keep the good parts of that spirit! Good call, though.

pudjakjuzto2
pudjakjuzto2
7 December 2016 at 9:23pm

Hi Taron, you are truly renaissance man! artist, programmer and musician, what else?

Taron
Taron
7 December 2016 at 9:39pm

AH, you're here, too, master of the arts! I sure hope, you're a musician, too, it would absolutely fit the bill! 8)

...well, I do dabble in philosophy and cats and dogs seem to like me, too, hahaha! ;o)

Thanks, my friend, I'm happy to see you here.

pudjakjuzto2
pudjakjuzto2
11 December 2016 at 8:17pm

Um, hi, hello again... :)
I really like theremin sounds!
Hope you will win.

I wouldn't say that i'm musician. I've got education in music school. I graduated trumpet and piano class, but that was years ago. Now i'm playing on jew's-harp and really enjoy it (and cannot say the same about my n-w).
It's fascinating that you're doing things that seem to be distant. But they are not, and it's cool.

c:!

Taron
Taron
11 December 2016 at 8:35pm

Ahahaha, I'm likely one of the few people, who understand c:!, hahaha! Thanks! ;o)

Yep, got a jew's harp right in front of me above my monitor, hehe, along with a bunch of flutes and a Tibetan singing bowl. 8D.

As for things being "distant", well, at the end it's all connected, just that one has to be arrogant enough to keep looking up, even when having to focus on something in his hands, hehehe. My abstract goal has been to find out what I can do as a human being, sort of like studying myself as a proxy, so to say. I just keep revolving around art, but my eyes are still up, seeing what else might matter to what I can do. I'm pretty sure I won't stray far, though. ;o)

BlackWinny
BlackWinny
1 January 2017 at 4:25pm

Oh My God ! At last a true original synth ! A fabulous instrument to imagine a totally new genre of music.

The last demo "Lordofthesprings Demo02", much more of a Theremine, makes me think of the vietnamese Dan Bau as you can hear it played by the famous virtuoso Pham Duc Thanh here: https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=x1LkoG449Yc

or here in a rock style: https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=xAhUMkpY9_8

But the possibilities of Lotd of the Springs go way beyond and let a huge freedom to create a totally new genre of music. Being a Franco-Chinese musician always looking for new paths mixing Asian music and occidental "new age" music with totally original modern sounds inspired by ethnic traditions (bowed strings, plucked strings, winds, bowls, mallets...) throughout the world, this new synth is now definitively one of y favorites. The only other one which is really excellent for that kind of totally new sounds inspired by acoustic instruments being for the moment Modelonia from NuSofting.

Lord of the Springs... Wonderful ! Definitively one of my favorites.

Vospi
Vospi
1 January 2017 at 4:42pm

More and more on board. :)

Taron
Taron
1 January 2017 at 4:54pm

Happy New Year, BlackWinny! I can't thank you enough for your fantastic message, thank you countless times.

What makes me so incredibly happy about what you wrote, is that you really see what I felt and/or discovered during its development. There are aspects to its performance features that I can't remember ever having had under my fingers and I keep getting lost, playing with it, floating inside the music it makes me play, while likely looking frantic, when I bounce around keyboard, pitch bending, mod wheeling and playing the theremin like tuning sliders with my graphics tablet, hahaha.

One tiny tip before I upload the next version. In the current version the Spring 2 range dial for "low" is not all the way down by default. It's something I somehow forgot. If you turn it all the way down and high all the way up, spring 2 also tunes perfectly, just in case someone was a bit thrown off by that. But in the next version many things will be different, better sorted out and with additional options for the sound shaping and more.

Anyway, thank you so very much for your highly motivating and encouraging feedback! If you ever have some song or experiment you wouldn't mind sharing, I'd love to hear it, too.

Again, all the Best for 2017 and I'll have a new version soon.

Taron
Taron
2 January 2017 at 12:27am

Ah, I almost forgot, I was too excited already. I really enjoy Modelonia, too, aside from other excellent, inventive and very inspiring vsts from NuSofting like Sinnah, too! It's an honor for me to have LotS mentioned in the same context. Thank you for that, too! 8)

nichttuntun
nichttuntun
21 February 2018 at 3:49pm

Yes its a fantastic sounding and versatile instrument...and all for free! It is a bit comparable with the AAS Chromaphone 2 which costs 100,00 $ (of course Chromaphone 2 has much more options for sound sculpting). What Taron is giving away for free is simply amazing.

Taron:
any news for further Updates? I would like to see a version with more modulation options and I am willing to pay for it :)

Best wishes.

Taron
Taron
21 February 2018 at 4:05pm

AH, thank you very much! I am planning to create a commercial version of it, particularly adding more modulation options. What holds me back is that I still need to figure out how to do compiles for the remaining platforms (mac and AU). Once I have those down, I can't wait to take LotS to the next level. I have a number of exciting ideas for it, that's for sure. 8)

Messages like yours give me a great boost. Thanks, again, for that.

BlackWinny
BlackWinny
21 February 2018 at 5:28pm

Hello Taron, .

If a future commercial version could make beautiful long evolving pads and with a kind of morphing from the beginning to the end of the pads (perhaps it may be a new idea for your mind), you can already consider me definitely as a purchaser.

Cheers
Jacques.

Taron
Taron
21 February 2018 at 6:49pm

Oh, fantastic, thank you very much, Jacques! Yes, I was planning on working out the "bowing" section, to allow for a number of very novel effects, especially allowing for complex pads! 8D.

We shall see! 8)

BlackWinny
BlackWinny
21 February 2018 at 6:58pm

Ha ha ! One might put it down to the old saying: Great minds think alike.

Please log in to join the discussion

Lord of the Springs

Average user rating of 5.00 from 1 review

Taron
 My KVR - Version Control & Lists
Not In Your MY KVR Groups
(or group limitation prevents versioning)
36 people have added Lord of the Springs to 20 My KVR groups 50 times
+16 in private groups

KVR Rank (Based on page views)

Overall: 125  125

30-Day: 124; 7-Day: 97; Yesterday: 92

KVR Audio Plug-in Marketplace
Advertisements