Login / Register 0 items | $0.00 New @ KVR

User Reviews by KVR Members for Modular V

Rate & Review Modular V Now!

Reviewed By codevyper [read all by] on 17th August 2010
Version reviewed: 2 on Windows
2 of 3 people found this review helpful.
Was it helpful to you? Yes No
I recently bought the Arturia V2 Collection and this VST was part of that collection. Arturia has hit it out of the park on a number of their VSTs and it seems that the MMV and the Prophet V are their flagship VSTs. The sound is amazing and the VST is rock solid and stable. I've used it in several popular hosts and had no problems with any of them.

If you are a knob jocky, then this VST is NOT for you! This is subtractive synthesis in the raw. They way it used to be done before the advent of digital programming circuitry. You need a little understanding of the concepts of subtractive synthesis to get the most out of this VST. You don't have to be a rocket scientist though and once you get used to how to patch modules together, you'll fly around the interface just the same as you would with any other VST.

The beauty of the modular is that there is way more flexibility than what you would get out of any other hardware synth that succeeded the modular era, because signal routing isn't the cut and dry oscillator to VCF to VCA signal chain we've all come to see in so many synths. This means you can get some truely unique sounds that are unobtainable by most other VSTs.

The downside to this VST is simply the scrolling, but there really isn't any other way to do it on a computer monitor, and if you reduced the size of everything to fit on a screen it would make it harder to see and subtract from the visual aesthetics of this VST.

This is one of the funnest VSTs to play with. Sometimes I just start patching stuff together to see what I come up with.
Reviewed By paladium [read all by] on 10th October 2009
Version reviewed: 2.5 on Windows.
Last edited by paladium on 10th October 2009.
2 of 2 people found this review helpful.
Was it helpful to you? Yes No
arturias finest emulation (closely followed by prophet V)

there is no better vsti if your into subtractive modular synthesis
the gui is clean and sharp , the new updated v2.5 filters sound even more
detailed , its especially suited for elaborate pads , warm and gutsy bass

this synth is not a good beginners starting point , you have to
have at least basic hands on (preferably hardware) modular analog
expirience otherwise you will never get the quality that it can achieve

in v2.5 theres a new generous selection of presets but this is a synth
to program your own. now from this version on its protected by dongle,
transferring of a new license onto an existing Arturia dongle went smooth,
as the filters have been revised there can be differences in cutoff /resonance when importing v2 sounds.

even with a lot of modulations going the sound remains detailed, its also
a good idea placing a limiter behind it when programming because it can get really loud.

the chorus and delay modules give a good spatial feel to the sound and used moderately they enhance the sound well, the phaser is as with all
digital phasers just passable, i have yet to hear a phaseing emulation that has the slurpy rollercoasting movement of a real analog phaser.

needed with editing patches would be an undo/redo function, still missing from v2.5, overall arturia should be applauded to update their vstis
even when they are 5 years down the line, a lesson that especially
native instruments should take notice of since they have a history
of abandoning products very quick.

overall its pretty stable and well worth the asking price if
you specifically look for vintage emulation although it can
do fm sounds also.
Reviewed By danbroad [read all by] on 9th January 2009
Version reviewed: 2 on Mac.
Last edited by danbroad on 9th January 2009.
4 of 4 people found this review helpful.
Was it helpful to you? Yes No
If you’re into synthesis emulations, then there’s an argument for this even if you never used any of the sounds you created. It’s a history lesson in VSTi form. That it sounds really very good is icing on the cake.

Initially, it’s daunting and confusing – even though I’ve plenty of years experience programming synths, they’ve been of fixed architecture. Here, before you create sonic motion, you have to join up the building blocks to even create a sound. A blank patch will play nothing – you have to connect a VCO through a VCA by way of filters. Of course, the beauty of a modular is that you can throw the rules to the wind!

Its greatest asset is also its biggest weakness; the beautiful GUI. We’re some years in now - so no computer should struggle to render it - but the attention to detail that makes the GUI so enthralling is also the reason it’s so frustrating to program. On a laptop, even on a larger screen, it’s fiddly, where a simple slip if the mouse can unhook a patch cable, or connect wrong, or twist a dial. It suffers the same frustrating portrait aspect as Propellerhead’s Reason. Why not create a landscape alternative to save scrolling up and down?

Some of the virtual TRS/phono jack input sockets become potentiometers once connected. On the GUI, it’s as though you were turning the phono socket itself, as you ‘grab’ the hex-socket edge and rotate. A neat use of space, but finding them to turn using your mouse is a real pain. Once you’ve added in a spaghetti of patch cables, the interface can be cluttered and fiddly. You can remove any or all cables, or ask the cables to move out of the way, but with complex patches then you lose the visual feedback.

Sound is top notch. Initially I didn’t see what the fuss was about, but having used the MMV in some Tangerine Dream-like tunes, I’m a convert. It sits really well in that kind of mix.

Plus, it has a proper, freely configurable analog step sequencer; arpeggiators, no matter how good, can't emulate the feel/imperfection of a free running step sequencer, and so its inclusion puts it into a select band of synths. [Now, I'd like to be able to use the step sequencer to control other VSTi's.... here's hoping..]

Documentation is superb. The manual is extensive, reasonably well written and informative. Every module is dissected and discussed individually. It’s also printed, which deserves top marks.

Included in the box is a USB key – even though I haven’t required using it, the synth is serial-based. Credit and thanks to Arturia for not having the cheek to ask us to buy one separately.n As for support – well, it’s worked well for me, and although updates are infrequent all my Arturia stuff works as described.

So, a history lesson, a useable emulation, and a very decent package. Watch out though – just like the real thing, you can blow your headphones if you inadvertently connect up a ‘sonic explosion’! Perhaps a big panic button would be nice – with your ears bleeding, controlling the mouse on the fiddly interface to remove a patch cable can be a challenge!
Reviewed By taijiguy [read all by] on 23rd June 2006
Version reviewed: 2.0 on Windows
6 of 6 people found this review helpful.
Was it helpful to you? Yes No
I’ve been using the Moog Modular V since it first came out. If I could only own one soft synth, this would be it.

GUI: The user interface looks very impressive, but it’s difficult to use. The most annoying thing is the need to scroll up and down because the entire interface can’t be displayed at one time. I’m sure this is because of the enormous number of modules and controls that made up the hardware MMV and the need of Arturia to make the interface as manageable as possible while staying true to the original instrument. If the entire interface were to be displayed, the controls would have to be a lot smaller than they are. But it makes programming very difficult and time-consuming.

Sound: The sound is fantastic! Although I’ve never played with a hardware MMV, I’m guessing that the sound is very similar. At the very least, it’s the best sounding software version of any Moog synth and quite a bit better than many analog-modeling hardware synths. It can produce many types of sounds from a fat, growling bass to high-pitched bells or spacey sound effects.

Features: The MMV is loaded with features, including the ability to change the module selection to some degree. It can be used as a VSTi or as a standalone soft synth. The patch cords are a nice touch.

Docs: A pretty extensive manual comes with the MMV and it includes several tutorials that range in complexity from producing a simple sound using the least number of modules to complex multi-oscillator sounds incorporating the sequencer. But the real fun of playing with the MMV comes after you’ve learned what works and what doesn’t, and you are able to create your own sounds.

Presets: There are plenty of onboard presets that were created by some well-known Moog users. Analysis of them is very helpful in learning to use this complex piece of software. You can also download user banks from the Arturia website or from other sources on the Web. I think it’s worthwhile to create your own user bank from the presets that you find useful, as well as your own presets. Because of the enormous number of presets that come with the MMV, it will make finding the ones you like a lot easier.

Support: The few times I’ve used Arturia support, they were quick to respond and very helpful.

VFM: The MMV is priced fairly and has actually come down in price since it was first release.

Stability: When MMV was first released, it was a CPU hog and regularly locked up my PC when using complex sequences. Those problems seem to have been solved with version 2.
Reviewed By MarkM [read all by] on 28th December 2004
Version reviewed: 2.0 on Windows
2 of 2 people found this review helpful.
Was it helpful to you? Yes No
MMV2 reminds me of a flight simulator. In front of you is a realistic representation of a Moog Modular with nine oscillators, LFOs, EGs, several filters, a 3x8 sequencer, chorus, phaser, white and pink noise generators, a sample and hold module, a ring modulator, an enveloope follower, fixed filter modules and other modules ready to be connected together with virtual (Reason-like) cables. There is no mod matrix buried under pages of menus. It's all in front of you just like Moog initially designed. In a sense, it is like a primer for sound design.
MMV comes with some wonderful presets that get you up and running. There is a fairly good manual that will walk you through the modules and give you a lesson on synth theory.
Installing is easy and painless; you just enter your serial number and then you can register to be able to downlaod more presets. I think one of the few cons I have against MMV2 is that to import more presets or banks you have to use the original installation disk.
I love the sound. It's warm and gritty. The filters are very responsive. Unlike the real Moog, this virtual version can be polyphonic. However, when adding additional voices the CPU gets gobbled up quickly. Stereo is easily accomplished with the MMV2 because there are two VCAs; each with it's own panning pot. The effect modules are stereo and can be assigned to either or both VCAs. The delay is terrific as is the chorus. The phaser is mediocre at best.
I am enjoying the step sequencer. It's very flexible and besides doing the Berlin school thing, it can easily be used to modulate other parameters in the synth. I like that you can have a heavy pad sound going with a light sequence going on in the background for texture. The sequencer can go backwards, forwards, both ways, in rows or in columns. You can configure one or more oscillators to sequence through one line of the sequencer and another set of oscillators to go through a different line or column, and at the same time you could have one of the lines modulate a filter.
There are several filters to choose from and you can go out of one filter into another very easily. The low pass filters are very responsive. I also like the formant filter which will give you some vowel like sounds. There can be some extensive mods made to it. The Bode Frequency Shifter is an unusual module. It can produce some 50s sci-fi sounds. I confess I haven't used it much only because I am not too familiar with it. None of my other synths have anything that sounds like it. I find the other filters (high pass, general) mediocre.
Another great feature is the Unison mode. This can really fatten up the sound.
I have had a few crashes, because it is very easy to gobble of CPU power when adding voices and unison. But in most cases this is a fairly stable program.
Does it sound like a Moog Modular? I don't know. I have never owned one. But I don't really care if it sounds like the real thing or not. It sounds great; very warm, fat bottom end, breathy sweeps. A versatile pad machine as well as a strong lead synth. The step sequencer is one of the best features and distinguishes it from most VSTi's.
Customer service is ok. I had a question and received an email answer two days later. There is a Yahoo users group as well.
A couple other cons: when used in standalone the virtual control pots move easily. But in VST mode they are too sensitive to the mouse. However, with an external controller the pots can be assigned and are easier to control. The graphics are so detailed, it is hard to read the settings. Fortunately a popup with the current setting appears as soon as the mouse appears over the pot.
This would be a great synth for anyone wanting to learn the basics of sound design. It is also a great sounding instrument that complements other synths.
Reviewed By ChamomileShark [read all by] on 29th September 2004
Version reviewed: V2 on Windows
2 of 2 people found this review helpful.
Was it helpful to you? Yes No
Quick review. I've had this for nearly a year and have been kick started into creating my own sounds by the release of version2. Note that now the spec above doesn't include the new modules. The total number of modules are I think the same but you can swap modules. So you can add sample & hold (x2 by swapping out 2 envelopes) a Bode Frequency shifter, a formant filter (swaps with an LFO) and a ring modulator (swaps out an envelope).
Coming to Modular synthesis for the first time (my background is early 80s monsynths) it was a bit of a steep learning curve but the manual is very good.

User interface - now scrollable, I do sometimes find it hard to get fine control even pressing shift.

The presets are a little better in V2 with banks by Klaus Schulze among others, but overall I don't think they are a great advert. I would have prefered less.
Stability - sometimes I have problems when running several instances with other heavy VSTs but that comes with the territory. Having said that I understand V2.1 is on it's way.

Oh, and nearly forgot...it sounds great! The sound is very heavy and organic, I've not really got any "delicate light sounds" but that is probably down to my programming but again it's also down to the actually real life model for this software, it was a bit of a bruiser! The new modules do open up a lot more sound creation possibilities, especially if you are going for complex sounds like those on the early Tomita albums.
Reviewed By HoTRocK [read all by] on 31st August 2004
Version reviewed: MMV2 on Windows.
Last edited by HoTRocK on 31st August 2004.
4 of 4 people found this review helpful.
Was it helpful to you? Yes No
It looks great, in keeping with the original.It feels great, in keeping with all moogs and it sounds...like a Mooooooooog! And thats why you pay your bucks... and considering an original would set you back over £5000 its damn good value. You get all the digital advantages including polyphonic, instant loading and saving (If you didn't have a polaroid you had a lot of drawing to do if you ever wanted to get the same sound again) and you can have as many as your computer can cope with. What more can a guy ask for. This is truly a big boys toy! (Sorry girls but you know what I mean)
Heavy on cpu and you do have to be careful what you're doing while you're twiddling knobs if you want to keep your speaker cones but thats true of every synth:The trick is to change things slowly, these things can do some really slow and deep sweeps that go through a hell of a lot of frequencies that can sneek up on you unawares, be warned: even the nasty's resemble the real thing.
Running a P4 3200,1gig mem, I have used 11 instances of MMV2 plus battery plus Crystal and several fx before cubase SX2 crashes.Then I simply recorded all onto seperate VST tracks and started again.
The size of MMV2 is quite something. Just about everything can be controlled with a cc (SX2 can start to get pretty confusing, trust me) although there are still some things you can't...which of course are the things I want to control i.e. the link buttons etc on the sequencer section (Although this thing is so big It may be I simply haven't found out how yet)
The MMV is a truly awesome bit of programming and Arturia deserve to win awards for it. The update to v2 is free to registered users which include 6 new modules - all of which were on the 'wish list' on the users forum as well as GUI improvements we asked for. There are a still few minor irritants that could do with ironing out, most of which has already been said by others here so I won't reiterate.
Arturia are now asking what other classic synths we want emulated. This is a company that LISTENS!
Many company's would do well to follow Arturia's example in customer service and attention to detail. Lets face it, the MMV got BOB MOOGs blessing...and deservedly so. The MMV2 is a truly AWESOME soft synth.

Rob Benn. A very happy user.
(As soon as I get a web page up I'll post the tunes I've done with it to date.)
Reviewed By bandasound [read all by] on 4th February 2004
Version reviewed: 1.2 on Windows
4 of 6 people found this review helpful.
Was it helpful to you? Yes No
This thing is awesome. I spent 2-days playing with this thing making presets...this thing does sound like an analog unit. it is so warm...and clear..no noise...this is another product by arturia showing there craftsman ship...honestly i didnt think it could be made to sound this good. Worth every $ i paid for it. User interface is definitly delictible...and the patching is insane...nice touch when you move across the cables and the move like you touched them...Routing options are are excellant with a visual feedback. I see that arturia has the CS-80v (i like to see if it matches up) and the minimoog when it comes out...

cons: does have a CPU load issue!!
Reviewed By Peel [read all by] on 27th July 2003
Version reviewed: 1.1 on Windows.
Last edited by Peel on 27th July 2003.
1 of 6 people found this review helpful.
Was it helpful to you? Yes No
I don't think that there should be any question that this is the best Moog emulation available.
UI: Looks great. Very large, which doesn't bother me too much, but the most annoying thing is the way the controls work. You can't see what value a control is set to without clicking on the control. You can't click on a control without changing its value (ie the knob jumps to where you clicked). What were they thinking?
Sound: Excellent.
Features: Quite extensive, sensibly offers some useful non-Moog features like polyphony. The only thing missing is an option to turn off the analogue-style oscillator instability -- it's good that they have it, and it's a subtle effect, but sometimes for basslines I want digital-style perfection
Documentation: A great manual with full documentation of the synth, info about analogue/subtractive synthesis and historical info about Moogs.
Presets: Pretty ho-hum, and the way they're organized isn't too useful.
VFM: The price seems about right; obviously if you're not a Moog fan there might be better places to spend your money, but if you want a Moog emulation it's money well spent.
Stability: No problems.
Reviewed By spmadmin [read all by] on 22nd March 2003
Version reviewed: 1.0 on Windows.
Last edited by spmadmin on 23rd March 2003.
4 of 6 people found this review helpful.
Was it helpful to you? Yes No
User Interface: Visually nice, but to hard to see values and too hard to use controls. All in all not user friendly. Optimum resolution seems to be 1152x864. Run in 1024x768, controls have the right size (on a 19" screen), but you cannot see all. Run at res. 1280x1024, and controls starts to get too hard to see/use. I like to run Cubase at 1600x1200, but at that res. you cannot work with the MMV interface.

Sound: Top quality, in every respect. Clean oscs. Sharp and responsive filters. Some of the best I have heard.

Features: A lot of sonic possibilities in the combination of modules. However, the preset management is extremely annoying. Also, there should be keyboard shortcuts to frequently used features.

Documentation: Big user manual, but IMO very badly written.

Presets: Too few (yes!) and definitely too little variation. Some collections really shines, though. A synth with this potential should come with presets that demonstrates its capabilities much more.

Customer Support: Have not needed it yet, but during delivery (with which there were some problems) Arturia was very responsive and helpful.

Value For Money: Will come in time, after a few updates probably. For now, the annoying GUI, the preset management and the instability really drags it down.

Stability: Seems to have the P4 denormalization problem. Sometimes gives extreme (ouch!!!) noises when switching between presets. Sometimes MMV's sound engine seems to crash on high CPU loads; only restart of Cubase will bring sound back. Stable most of the time, though.

Other: I realy hate the copy protection scheme (have to insert the original CD now and then). I have had it for 3 days now and already inserted it twice. Damn, that's annoying.

Latest 10 reviews from a total of 10

Discussion

Discussion

Discussion: Active
Guy Richardson
Guy Richardson
22 September 2012 at 9:35am

Lovely set of sounds by skawiwen - thank you. Is there much demand for new sounds for the Modular - I have some nice things I could upload if there is interest?

adagiocm
adagiocm
29 November 2012 at 9:14am

@billbuxton: I would definitely be interested :)

Guy Richardson
Guy Richardson
7 December 2012 at 3:38am

OK Adagiocm - there's a few sounds to play with. Cheers Bill

adagiocm
adagiocm
8 December 2012 at 6:30am

Fantastic sounds, thank you Bill ! I especially like the pads a lot.

Please log in to join the discussion

Modular V

Average user rating of 3.90 from 10 reviews

Arturia
 My KVR - Version Control & Lists
Not In Your MY KVR Groups
(or group limitation prevents versioning)
372 people have added Modular V to 28 My KVR groups 443 times
+23 in private groups

KVR Rank (Based on page views)

Overall: 1346  959  1310

30-Day: 1063; 7-Day: 1711; Yesterday: 1252

KVR Marketplace
What's New @ KVR Audio
Headphone output vs. Master output sound qualityby BertKoor @ 8:50 in Hardware (Instruments and Effects)Bargain Center: discussion, gossip, etc.by Rusty O'Hara @ 8:46 in Sell & Buy (+Special Offers, Deals & Promos)Presonus Studio One Pro 4 or Bitwig 2.4 ?by antic604 @ 8:45 in Hosts & Applications (Sequencers, DAWs, Audio Editors, etc.)SynthMaster v2.9.7 Beta released with 50 new hardstyle presets by Fragment Audioby Acesys @ 8:45 in InstrumentsCall to Arms: Charity 2018 ($36675 raised. Charity has ended!)by mlilley2001 @ 8:43 in InstrumentsSpire Synthesizerby vega555 @ 8:43 in InstrumentsUnique Uses for Stutter Editby Musical Gym @ 8:42 in EffectsFs: Komplete 8 Ultimate, Ableton Live 9 STD + Max For Live, Sonible (Up to 80% OFF)by Corentin_801 @ 8:40 in Sell & Buy (+Special Offers, Deals & Promos)One Synth Challenge #117: ModulAir by Full Bucket (Windows / Mac) (new Synthmaster bundle!)by schiing @ 8:32 in InstrumentsFS: Ableton Live 10 Standard, Samplitude Pro X3 Suite, iZotope Ozone Elements.UPDATEDby Aleksa Norovic @ 8:26 in Sell & Buy (+Special Offers, Deals & Promos)Why the iLok hate?by bite_me @ 8:18 in EffectsPolyverse Manipulatorby antic604 @ 8:17 in Effects2018 Black Friday / Cyber Monday deals threadby zadillo @ 8:15 in Sell & Buy (+Special Offers, Deals & Promos)First steps on Vectorizing Audio Plugins: which Instruction Set do you use in 2018?by stratum @ 8:06 in DSP and Plug-in DevelopmentTechno Synthby perfumer @ 8:06 in Sound DesignView All Latest Posts
Advertisements