Login / Register 0 items | $0.00 New @ KVR

User Reviews by KVR Members for MuLab

Rate & Review MuLab Now!

Reviewed By Ramlee [read all by] on 7th November 2017
Version reviewed: 7 on Windows
3 of 3 people found this review helpful.
Was it helpful to you? Yes No

In the world of free sequencer/DAW platforms, there are many contenders and just as many pretenders. MULAB stands out as a platform that delivers and then some. Exceptionally light on system resources and yet lacking nothing in terms of essential functionality, MULAB has become my new best friend; well....new best composition platform. Believe me when I say, "I tried them all..". LMMS looked promising but baffled me with its less than intuitive external keyboard routing which seemed to trigger all channels simultaneously; even after assigning separate MIDI channels to every track! Sequitur was equally alluring with its sexy interface and stripped down simplicity but again external keyboard frustration seemed built into the system. MULAB just worked straight away and the learning curve was refreshingly quick...everything made sense. Moreover, MULAB shipped with a bunch of synths and effects that weren't Casio rejects; no...there was real quality and depth to the instruments - the Hammond B3 was simply gorgeous. Suffice to say that if MULAB doesn't get your juices flowing then nothing in the GPL DAW menagerie will do it for you. The best free composition platform currently available and did I mention that it can be installed on a thumb drive so you can jack your studio into any available hardware...brilliant. (9 out of 10 only because I anticipate that it's just gonna get better)

Click here to read all 9 reviews

Discussion

Discussion

Discussion: Active

THIS POST HAS BEEN REMOVED

THIS POST HAS BEEN REMOVED

BlackWinny
BlackWinny
3 October 2014 at 2:10pm

It's a question to ask not here but on the Mulab forums, there:

http://www.kvraudio.com/forum/viewforum.php?f=79

liquidsound
liquidsound
1 February 2015 at 9:42pm

A formidable DAW I agree.

I own most of them but I use MuLab all the time.

Modularity: what Live is achieving with M4L and Bitwig "will try" with v2 has been in MuLab for years! Way ahead in the Modular-DAW world race.

DjMarto
DjMarto
4 January 2017 at 5:56pm

I have a problem: every time that i export the composition as an audio file the file that i find in the folder has some interferences or it flickers about every 30 seconds, plz help me.

BlackWinny
BlackWinny
4 January 2017 at 8:15pm

"...every 30 seconds..."

A little birdie tells me that you haven't entered your serial code, have you ?

THIS POST HAS BEEN REMOVED

jadamso
jadamso
24 January 2017 at 3:40pm

A really nice program made even more impressive by a small development team.

harmonicgleam
harmonicgleam
5 March 2018 at 8:05pm

A beautiful idea that seems to work for some people. I wish to use MuLab but It appears to me to be missing some crucial features. The documentation is very poor not to mention incomplete. I have yet to find a review from a known site such as sonic state. I am unable to sync this software to anything and unable to get support. J'apprécie les clowns au cirque que je les renvois dans l'entreprise.

Caps
Caps
22 July 2018 at 8:38pm

I agree with you. There are little to no videos which are voice lead, they are mostly silent. Imagine, you pay for a course and you discover the instructor never says anything, just points to the black board or shows you his screen and points to an object. this describes the MU-Tools culture. You can have magic in your hands but if you access just a part of it, how can enjoy the benefits? Several MU-Tools users have left MU-Tools and have moved to FL or other DAWs. One was a MU-Tools instructor on Youtube who went the way of FL. His reason was that FL had many more functions and good video tutorials.

Please log in to join the discussion

MuLab

Average user rating of 4.89 from 9 reviews

MUTOOLS
 My KVR - Version Control & Lists
Not In Your MY KVR Groups
(or group limitation prevents versioning)
116 people have added MuLab to 27 My KVR groups 178 times
+22 in private groups

KVR Rank (Based on page views)

Overall: 135  106  134

30-Day: 112; 7-Day: 197; Yesterday: 287

Advertisements